Real Life Story: Her Great Bravery

in #life6 years ago



Note: Some scenarios are based on the author's imagination. It is not intended to hurt anybody but to convey the feeling of the person being portrayed.



DISCLAIMER: source


I am hugging my knees to my chest. My whole body is shivering with pain, guilt and being petrified. I can taste the liquid that my eyes are pouring out for some time now. I am trying my best to not let our a sob. They might hear me and I am afraid that I would awake them. It's already midnight but I can't go back to sleep. At this rate, my body is not allowing me to go back to bed. I am scared... afraid that my nightmare will be here again.

I am pretty sure that everyone's asleep at this moment. I can only hear the frog ribbitting loudly... and the howl of the dogs that I hear every night feels like they are giving a sign that a ghost or something paranormal is just near, just like what I always see on horror films. That makes my skin hair stands up.

Tonight is one of the nights that my nightmare visited me. No. It's more than that. My nightmare has shattered my life. I am totally messed up... dirty... Some people know what is happening to my life... to me, but they act like blind and deaf. I told my aunt about it but she never listened and just ignored me. I guess she doesn't want to hear it again. She has been so angry and frustrated at me for God knows how many times. Whenever I tried to open up about it, she would snap and turn back on me.

My only consolation is to cry every time it happens. I have admitted this to my best friend. Concerned is very apparent on her, that even her parents allow me to stay for some time at their home. But they can't do something more than that. And, they can't do anything when my aunt shouts and spits at me in front of them yelling how sick she is of always nagging at me.

Days... months have passed and almost everyone in the neighborhood learns about my circumstance. Some gave their opinion and obviously disagreed with why people just kept their mouths shut. Some just brushed it off, thinking it was just an ordinary gossip.

Today, I am going back to my other relatives' home. I was very happy when I heard about it. Deep inside I am much merrier as I could get away from this hell.

My aunts give me piercing eyes when they see me. They asked uncomfortable questions but I told myself why would I deny?

"Why are you looking pale and unhealthy? Are not eating well there? Are you okay?"

I give them a weak but audible answer and said:

"I was raped. "

I didn't cry when I said that but my aunts' cries crushed my heart apart that I almost fell a tear.



I am writing this story to give honor to this high school girl, who was my neighbor, who didn't lose hope and never thought of giving up her life. Instead she never hesitated to tell everyone her story to give herself the justice that she was fighting for. Fortunately, the rapist is now in jail and surely would never get out. I am up for fighting justice for those rape victims. I, myself had been a victim of attempted rape. Please never silently slip this matter away. This is a serious problem in the Philippines now.






Thank you for reading.
Loving you all Steemians,

@loudetteiam 😘

Sort:  

omg at first I was expecting a ghost story or something but that revelation stunned me.

Indeed it is a prevalent problem in the country with victim shaming even happening.
I hope your neighbor will get through this and stay strong.

Haha! I intentionally did not reveal the story in the beginning. Right! I agree with you @maverickinvictus. I am hoping she is doing well now. I don't see her anymore in my neighborhood as she is now with her aunt in Lanao.

nice post

Thank you :-)

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

nice post @loudetteiam

Tisko Bot
Send 0.200 STEEM/SBD and the URL in the memo to @tisko to use the bot for a resteem and to get 5 good upvots.
Click here to see how to use Tisko Bot.

There's a sense of pity when it happens to friends. There's a sense of revenge and at the same time helplessness when it happens to your loved ones. I can't fathom the hurt it must be for the victims.

Right, @leeart! I can't imagine how she managed to get through with it. She surely has a strong mind to continue and move on with her life.

All rapers should be burned on the stake.

Agree! How dare them to destroy an innocent life. I have learned that in the Philippines now, there is one rape victim per hour. This is very sad.