The year of endless change...

in #life2 years ago

The other day, fiendishly ready for some delicious Nepalese food from my favorite restaurant, Ghorka Palace, I drove up to the big city of Minneapolis from my hideout amidst the sedges and silver maples of the Mississippi River valley.

I was planning to meet with @kommienezuspadt for the kind of lunch buffet that gives one dreams of the sort I have not experienced since the pre-covidian era, but alas... sadly, they decided to cancel the buffet, citing staffing issues.

Well, it was soul-crushing in a first-world problem sort of way, but I pressed my pedal to the metal and headed up to rendezvous with @kommienezuspadt all the same. We ended up at a reliable little Indian restaurant called Himalaya, where we dined on pakoras and curry and naan until I was, predictably, over full.

We swapped stories of our latest adventures, and misadventures in crypto-land and @kommienezuspadt asked me... "Why aren't you posting on Hive?"

Well, truth be told I've been planning to make a Hive comeback for a while now and mentioned as much to @ignacioarreses who was looking for some Hive buddies at the time.

But, life has been dangling these carrots in my field of view, and... well, like some amnesiac cartoon character on a human-sized hamster wheel, I've kept on chasing them. I think I'm all chased out now, and... if you'll have me, I think I'll rest here a while, process a bit of the madness with you, and rediscover my... (ahem) voice.

It's been two years since I returned from my winter sabbatical within the Sangre de Cristo Mountains of New Mexico, journeyed back to Minnesota, and last shared my musings here on Hive after a warm, late summer wander among the Rogue's gilliflower.

My how time flies.

I've been lost in the EOS vortex and everywhere in between, and this has been one helluva year!

cat_and_me_in_gertie.jpeg

Just over a year ago in late November, I moved out of a cold barn in Southern Minnesota, and headed out with two cats and my sweetie @wolfcat, to care for a spread of log cabins in the Laurentian Uplands of Northern Minnesota.

wood.gif         fire.gif

I became the wood-splitter and fire-tender in chief.

IMG_2236.JPG

Our dinner table was sometimes a wheelbarrow...

IMG_2205.jpg

The lake froze over and made a good place to watch sunsets and shooting stars...

By February... after a few seismic shifts in our collective reality, I'd retreated from the Northwoods and moved into a condo in St. Paul, MN...

IMG_3551.JPG
The cats were like... are we there yet?

Life replied... not by a long shot...

IMG_4326.JPG

by April, I was in the mountains of Virginia.

IMG_4353 2.jpg

I opened the gateway to a magical faerie valley, but the winds changed, and fortune willed me to move onward, ever onward... sometimes forward, sometimes backwards, and always spinning wildly into the unknown. (Thank you Simpsons)

IMG_3700.gif

By July, I was back in Minnesota.

IMG_6127.JPG

The cats are tired, I'm tired... but guess what, I'm not done moving yet.

Now, as I write, EOS awaits some revelations of its fate in a situation not unlike the great Steem and Hive coup of yesteryear.

The longer I'm in the blockchain space the stronger my luddite tendencies become... seriously.

I think the plants and the land and the river valley are calling me home. We have a winter solstice arriving soon, and the darkest days of the year yet to cross over into the new. I'll be hunkering down and waiting to see what fresh madness is in store.

I hope you all stay warm, and well nourished.
Thanks for keeping the home fires burning!

Until soon,

Peace, and @lovejoy

Sort:  

Great to hear from you @lovejoy sounds like you have had some big adventures.

Thanks for commenting, yeah... glad to he heard. And, too much adventure... I'm ready for some stillness now! 😅

That was quite a year! Our feet are itching to start traveling again. We're planning a trek down to Arizona in February and will likely be there for quite a bit longer than last year. Ah, Gorkha Palace! Just uttering the name brings back memories of how good the food is. Have you been to Everest on Grand? It's not quite in the same league as Gorkha but if you ever need a backup plan I would suggest it. They have a decent lunch buffet three days a week, I think. Here's wishing you a wonderful solstice and Holiday season.

Eric! Hey... travel for me, I'm going to root down for a bit. I love Everest on Grand! Truth be told they are better than Himalaya, but you're right, second to Gorkha. They are still doing buffet?! I'm so there! Well, happy holidays and a magical solstice to you my friend! All the best, Brandon

Great to see you here again - let me know the next time you're in the city!

Glad to be seen, and I will do! :)

But, life has been dangling these carrots in my field of view, and... well, like some amnesiac cartoon character on a human-sized hamster wheel, I've kept on chasing them. I think I'm all chased out now, and... if you'll have me, I think I'll rest here a while, process a bit of the madness with you, and rediscover my... (ahem) voice.

Let us say that they got tired, so you do not have to chase them anymore. Hahaha. 😂

I know. These are not carrots, just/only a potato looking lamps, but it is still funny.
img_0.3363881822896487.jpg

Yes, a wheel, spinning eternally... no more chasing... Sometimes we just have to stand still. ;)
Cheers!

I'm so glad my encouragement was the push to bring your talents and wisdom back to Hive! We missed you. What a ride. Reading this, I can think of a hundred treacherous and noteworthy occurrences that were oversimplified for the sake of keeping this under 10K words. Well done on that, but it really puts a point on what this last two years have been like.

Yeah, the story between the lines is infinitely more fascinating than what's on the page, but it's mostly just grist for the mill at this point. Thanks again for your encouragement... it's always a welcome push. I'll keep at it!

wow. its hectic having to move so much. Glad to hear from you guys again. I think a home is a place you can always come back to, no matter how long you are away! hive continues to be this for me. I love to check in, I blog rarely....but somehow.... it always feels like a home. Im proud of it for establishing itself in my heart like it has, and grateful to it for providing me with so much opportunity.
Its been a long time since lisbon, but seeing your name in my feed gives me flashing memories of a crazy beautiful time in a city at the start of a long revolution (for me at least!).
Peace, love and joy right back at ya. Basil x

Basil, so great to hear from you! :) What wonderful times we had in Lisbon! Yeah, they say home is where the heart is... and so many tremendous folks I've met over the years are still keeping the home fires burning here on the Hive blockchain... the community has proved resilient. I hope to see you in the world again mate! I'll check up on your blog and try to figure out what mad-cap adventures you've been getting into lately. All the best!

@tipu curate 🐾

Welcome back to Hive! Your post looks so professional, and yet so authentic - I think you'll reclaim a lot of success and good will here.

Cheers!

Why thanks for the warm welcome back! I'll do my best. Nice to make your acquaintance. :)

is it just me the wood cutting thrills me, perfect aim.

I love chopping wood. Samurai training, and... therapy, all wrapped up in one! ;)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more