Lessons I learned before turning 25

in #life8 years ago (edited)

25 Years of Life and Lessons

I recently celebrated my twenty-fifth birthday with friends hunting Pokemon at the beach. If you had told me three years ago that's how I was going to celebrate my 25th birthday I probably would have laughed and rolled my eyes. I've come a long way from the crazy party girl I was as a teen and into my early twenties. The days and even months leading up to my birthday I spent reflecting on past decisions and events that helped me shape the life I have now. Some lessons were quick but others took years and many mistakes to learn.

Lessons I learned before turning 25

The future cannot be predicted.

Ever since I could remember I've been dreaming of the future. Waiting for some miraculous event to turn my world upside down and crown me as the princess that I am. Unfortunately, that day has not come and it never will. Instead I have come to the realization that my life will never look like what I once dreamed and that is okay because it just might turn out better than I ever imagined. Life is so unpredictable, forever changing in so many ways that no one could really know what the future holds and for this reason it is best just to live in the moment and enjoy all of life's little surprises. 

Change is inevitable.

Whether you like it or not, changes in life are going to happen, sometimes quick and unexpectedly. Sudden changes have thrown me into a panic a number of times. As I said above, life is forever changing the only thing you can do is embrace these changes and use them to better yourself and your quality of life.

Breakaway from toxic people to find your own happiness.

Probably one of the hardest lessons I ever had to learn. After years of being used and manipulated by people I loved and trusted I finally had the intuition to stand up to the abuse and say, "I deserve better than this." Toxic people are hurt people who hurt people and despite the immense amount of compassion I showed to them it was never enough. I have come to terms with losing three people who were very close to me. These people were toxic to me and held me back from my full potential. I spent countless hours trying to help them with their problems while ignoring my own and they all eventually showed me their true colors. When I cut ties with these toxic people I felt a huge weight lifted from my shoulders. I had more time to focus on myself and my own goals instead of always being caught up in someone else's drama!

Heartbreak isn't the end of the world.

Ending a 6 year relationship was hard but life went on. I didn't realize how much I had been holding back, how numb I had become, how I had ignored my own desires because I was so distracted by the mess of trying to hold a failing relationship together. After the breakup a whole new world of possibilities opened up. I learned a lot from the failures of past relationships and have been given this wonderful opportunity to be in a mutually understanding and loving relationship.  

Money isn't everything.

If you measure your wealth in money you will never truly be rich. I consider myself as rich as they come. I am rich in love and desire. I have a small group of friends and my family who love and support me unconditionally. I love my job and I am following my heart and pursuing the career of my dreams. I don't live a lavish lifestyle but I find beauty in the world around me. 

Live without regret.

Boy oh boy, have I done some crazy and questionable things in the past but I wouldn't trade them for the world. Those experiences are what shaped me into the person I am today. Besides, had I never experienced such low lows then I wouldn't be as grateful for the highs. I've come to embrace my mistakes and take them as valuable lessons that help me make better future decisions.

Never stop learning.

I have always had endless curiosity and a burning desire to know more. I always struggled in school and eventually flunked out of college and almost gave up on pursuing my dream career. However in 2013, after a three year break from school I got back on track and was determined to succeed this time...it's going very slow because I work full-time and only take one class at a time but nonetheless I'm excited to be on this journey and absorb all the information I can to make up for lost time. This is something I have come to embrace in new ways as an adult. I realized not only can I learn new things in school but also everyday is a new opportunity to learn from the world around me. Now, I learn from my own experiences as well as those of others close to me. 

There’s no such thing as total balance.

I’ve come to learn this after 25 year of chasing balance that there’s no such things as having total balance. When I succeed in some aspects of my life others take a back seat. Why is this?! Probably because I’m human and not a super hero with a teleportation abilities. Now I realize, this chase of balance is just another part of life that will always be there and I find some comfort in knowing things won't ever be perfectly balanced but I will always try my best to achieve the closest thing to it that I can.

Be your own best friend.

Throughout the last five years or so I've become much more confident and secure. I aim to nurture the relationship I have with myself. After all, it is the only one that will last my whole life. I learned the hard way you can't love someone else until you love yourself.

Regardless of your age I hope this post inspired you to live your life to the fullest and always try to take something positive from life's lessons. 

Sort:  

From me i learn how just to live for my self and the peoplewho care abt you because at this time we live in no one care abt the other so to make for you're life you need live for you're self ande never care about someone

very nice post :) would be nice if you check my channel, perhaps u like my art. i followed you! keep it on <3 kalipo

Will you please stop spamming everyone's post with the same comment? It seems to be working for you as it's getting you a lot of followers, but the community won't stand for it very long.

I've told him to stop several times and he just wont listen.. sooner or later he's going to regret it

If you've already said something multiple times, I'm going to go through and flag them all. I also posted it to @steemcleaners.

It's just insane that he's done this to over 300 peoples posts in the past 48 hours.. I was trying not to let it bug me, but he was just getting away with it and being very successful from doing it.. It's just not fair to all the rest of us that work really hard to get the followers we have..

i got it. im sorry, didnt know that is such a big problem. i stop it .. just have a nice week guys.

You have to really think about.. If you spam tons of post and get tons of followers from it, other people are going to see this and see the success your having from doing it.. So then they start spamming every one and people see them spamming and being successful from it.. on and on.. you get the pitcure
edit: opps i meant this @kalipo sorry

ur right. i didn´t thought about it - thanks for that orcish.