Favors...

in #life7 years ago

I’ve always been a friendly and extremely helpful person. That’s because I always want to be proud of the person looking back at me when I look in the mirror. I also enjoy living life this way. Being friendly and helpful makes me feel good.

feeling good.png

The other day I went out of my way to help someone I didn’t even know. I just happened to noticed he needed some help. I introduced myself to him and asked if I could help. The help involved some heavy lifting. On that particular day I knew that I was not going to make it to the gym so helping this person was going to be my exercise for the day.

helping-hands.jpg

Helping out this person took about an hour of my time. When it was over I was drenched in sweat but I didn’t mind. It was exactly what I wanted. Before walking away I was given a very gracious “thank you” and handshake.

thank you.jpg

A few days later I was involved in an outside project that involved some heavy lifting and boy I really could’ve used some help. While I was working I noticed the person I had helped walking by. We greeted each other with a friendly “hello” and a handshake and he continued on his way. I must admit I was a little disappointed he didn’t offer to help me.

But then I realized something.

realization.jpg

He wasn’t obligated to help me. Expecting a favor in return shouldn’t be the reason to do a favor for someone. For some reason I forgot that. At first I was disappointed with the person I helped but then I became disappointed in myself even more.

This will not stop me from helping others. I will continue to lend a helping hand wherever possible. As a matter of fact, it has motivated me to help out more.

It makes me feel good to do so.

Helping-Others.jpg

Sort:  

You my friend are the poster child for "Humanity"! Most people forget what that is. I stand and applaud you.

Congratulations @lts! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!