Yeheey!!! I've Conquered my Fear of Heights Not Just Once :-D

in #life6 years ago

Hello everyone here @steemit community :-) . I am new here as this is just my second blog. I am very much thankful to my niece for encouraging me to join. So after a month of coaxing I finally found the time to write my first blog and it felt good. I felt that steemit would be a great avenue to be able to write and share something to a lot of people and in return also learn new things from them. Thus, I am encouraged to write this.

Okay, so I asked myself what took me so long to join? What am I scared of anyway..? Do I have anything to lose? After some meditations, my realization becomes clear though. There are just some things that I am scared of and things that I am hesitant to do so. I have always loved writing but I'd rather choose to keep them to myself. But hey look, here I am trying to set aside my hesitations. I may take some time but I'll get there. And I believe, am gonna enjoy this journey here at steemit.

Alright, so let me share with you one of my greatest fears in life. That is the FEAR OF HEIGHTS with body of water underneath and most especially at nights!!! Oh my gosh, when I am in high places I could not bear to look down especially with a body of water under. My knees would tremble uncontrollably and I'd feel as if something is pulling me down. And I'm going to have a series of morbid imagination of things. Basic example is when I am passing through Mactan bridge. I would imagine an earthquake is going to shake it and break it in two and boom I am going to fall and drown deep into the sea. When travelling by slow boat, I envy those passengers who would stand by the railings. And I would say to myself - oh no, a strong wind might come and knock them over to the ocean. God, help I don't know how to swim... Hahaha.. This kind of feeling is terrible and exhausting.

But in life, fears should not hinder nor cripple us to do things. We have got to conquer them. For me, there is no better way and other way to overcome it but by doing and going through it face to face. Hahaha and alas I did. First, I made it a point to pass through Mactan bridge every now and then. But since I do not have many opportunities to travel by slow boat I found an alternative to conquer my fear through zip lining and passing through a hanging bridge.. At first, I was terrified. But once I braced myself and it felt so great. I was so thrilled. It was so much fun and I actually enjoyed it so much. It was like I was finally released from the prison cell called FEAR.
20120325_021.jpg

DSC_0361.JPG

20120429_018.jpg

So let us never allow fear to slow us down in life. Set ourselves free and enjoy every minute of our life in the best possible way.

Have a happy day steemians...