Canadian Grammar Police

in #life7 years ago


Image Credit

It is almost difficult to believe. A law regarding the improper use of ones pronouns. I really don't care about the gender identity issues because it is a matter of liberty. Be whatever you want and don't hurt anyone else. All that said, Canada has completely lost their minds. In an article Here, the implementation of Bill C-16 is explained. This is a huge violation of human rights and I agree with University of Toronto Professor Jordan Peterson when he states "Compelled speech has come to Canada" and "We will seriously regret this".

I happen be an American, and I was trying to imagine if I were taken into custody in Canada for calling someone the wrong pronoun. I would not enter a plea and demand to speak to my embassy, which would have to recognize my right to free speech and condemn the confinement, right? Would this not make a person a political prisoner? I am not sure how that would play out, but I imagine with my short temper, it would not go well in court and I would be kicked out of Canada. I almost want this to happen so Canada can see what they have done. If I call Frank the wrong proper Noun, Fred, it is a minor inconvenience and at most warrants a verbal correction. They are worried about pronouns being used hatefully, which amounts to nothing more than censorship...Grammar police engaged, watch what you say in Canada.

Should we be lawfully required to say things a certain way to protect peoples emotional attachment to their gender identity?
Or has this gone too far?

Sort:  

I will have to check that one out!