What keeps you going?

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Image source: Pixabay

Life never comes easy for anyone. It might seem easy when you look from outside, but nothing is as pink as you might be tempted to think. We all have problems, we all have our challenges and crosses to carry.

Some of us like to paint a pink veiled picture of what life is or what we'd like it to be, which might not coincide with what we have in reality. We tend to complain about our problems and ignore the thought that others may have a worse life than us.

When you hit too many rock bottoms, the only thing that keeps you going is determination. Eleven years ago I met an amazing woman that fully embodies this concept.

My friend has had a hard life in her country. She entered into an arranged marriage at a very young age which ended up in divorce. Needless to add that she was looked down at just because of that. Yes, in some cultures, even nowadays being a divorcee is not an easy thing.

Later on she remarried again and had two children only to discover that her husband was a cheater. When she confronted him, he turned out to be a complete a**hole and he hit her.

Both sides of the families refused to get involved or side with her. Thus she was refused any type of help and she was asked to keep her mouth shut or else she would find herself disowned.

Therefore from being cheated on, she turned into a victim of domestic abuse. For the sake of her children eventually she decided to leave him and flee the country.

She came to Canada as a refugee and she started her life from zero. No money, no relatives, no friends. Only her skills and her determination to provide her children a better life.

Did I mention that she did not speak a word in English or in French? Two years later, she was fluent in both.

In her first months on Canadian soil she took two jobs in order to cope with the bills. Like many other immigrants she faced different aspects of racism. Although she was a master degree graduate, she was not able to find a position in her field. Everyone kept telling her she was over qualified.

After being passed around from one recruitment agency to another, she was eventually told that her chances of being hired would increase considerably if she would uncover her head.

Obviously, she refused to do so and hang on to her beliefs. Two months later, she did it. Not because she had given up her faith, but because she saw her kids suffering. They had been bullied at school because they were the only kids in the class who were different.

She put their happiness above anything else and she did anything in her powers to provide for them and keep them safe.

I have never met anyone more selfless or more determined to fight for his goals than her. This is only a short summary of her life story that I found inspirational and touching. There's nothing stronger than a mother's dedication her children's well-being.

What would you do for your kids?

Sort:  

When you hit too many rock bottoms, the only thing that keeps you going is determination.

I love this line and think that this embodied me as well because there have been so many times that I have failed and thought of going through the easy way out but managed to stay.

The story of your friend is amazing that even with faced with racism, limited options because of the language and gender and yet being told she is over qualified which is HR's polite way of no we will not hire you, I know because unfortunately I have used it several time.

A mother is capable of doing anything for her kids.

She's one of my personal modern day heroes and sources of inspiration. ;0)

Life never comes easy for anyone. It might seem easy when you look from outside, but nothing is as pink as you might be tempted to think. We all have problems, we all have our challenges and crosses to carry.

I try to remember this every time someone is rude to me or every time another driver cuts me off in traffic. We have no idea the realities, pressures or stresses of another humans life.

I try to remember, I’m not always perfect, but this is an excellent reminder we don’t always know the crosses others have to bear.

I do the same and I try to explain others that just because we don't see certain things, it does not mean they are not there.

Truly inspirational, thanks for the share...

You're welcome! ;0)

Nothing can bring down a woman whose heart is set on her children. Not even hell fire.

I agree with you !

A mother does many thing for their kids happiness....though, she never be selfish but when it comes to their kids, they can go any limit.....Women power is always praiseworthy.

Indeed! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts!

wow, what a powerful story! I definitely needed that to put me in place. I have been complaining a lot about how unfair life is lately and my story isn't anywhere near as bad. I guess I really should appreciate the life I have more.

Some stories have this effect on us, they make us realize that we should not take things for granted and be grateful for what we have.

Oh my god, this is inspiring! Thank you for sharing this @lymepoet. I want to say something to that woman, but I'm just in awe. It's touching indeed. Good to read from such examples. She's a warrior of love.

She is a warrior. One of the best I ever met. ;0)

That's definitely a case that shows determination and dedication. I think it was smart for uncover her head. I know some religious people might see it as abandonment of faith, but in reality, that moment was the moment when she became her children's Goddess. I think many parents are ready to face hell if it gets their children to a better place, and nothing shows love more than that.

This is exactly what happened to her. Her act was labeled as such and she was not allowed anymore to be a member of the religious community. Once more she had found herself alone.

That's a shame. The noblest and purest hearts are the ones who get shunned.

That is totally true. It is incredible how You developed this.

Thanks for stopping by!

nice words, check this out(follow) if you want to be successful..
https://steemit.com/life/@i-know/gh4ka2l4Elon-Musk-on-How-To-Start-Up-A-Business.jpg