The story of my life

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi fellow steemians! Good day! I'd like to share a brief story of my life, hope you'll get time to read it. Thank you!

I came from a very poor family. I have 9 siblings and im the youngest in the family. My father is a fisherman and my mother is a plain housewife. My family lived in one of the province area of the Philippines. Due to poverty, some of my siblings didn't have the opportunity to go to school and some didnt able to finish studies because they need to help our parents in providing our daily needs. Thus, we were obliged to work at our early ages.
In my case, i go to school cause that is all i wanted though I struggled a lot due to distance, financial, and social (ex. bullying) concerns...However i still managed to finished my study in a public elemetary school with high honors. I thought i couldn't pursue my study since it is even impossible for us to have 3 meals a day. We dont even have electricity, we dont have any material things that every common family has. We're very tied up with starvation and scarcity. My family battled up with so many problems like surviving our daily needs, the death of my sister, the imprisonment of my two brothers, and the case filed against my parents with regards to the land that we're living. The only source of strength that we have is prayer.

I saw my family's battle, i saw how people in our community humiliated and dishonored us and from that i dreamed more.

Life is always been difficult for us, so my parents decided to migrate in one of the cities in the Philippines. There, we settled for collecting/buying scraps or junk materials like (plastic bottles, cans, metals, etc). That is our source of income.
Due to my parents' hardwork I've finished high school in a public school. After that, another greatest fear is how to study college. I took an entrance exam in one of the prestigious yet cheapest universities in Cebu City and gladly i passed. But i know i still cannot afford it, so i decided to took a scholarship program of the Commission on Higher Education and gladly passed. I said to myself at that time, that i will not messed up with this opportunity. I study hard in order not to failed on the scholarship offered. Finally, i graduated my bachelor's degree with latin awards. Afterwhich, I took the board exam and gladly passed with a satisyfying rating.

Now, i am working with the profession that i want. Some of my siblings have their own businesses as traders. Though it is not yet a complete success for us but i am very thankful of the life that we have now.

From that i've realized that achieveing something is matter of determination, perseverance, hardwork, and faith. The only thing to make impossible possible is to believe that it is possible. For those who believe, i tell you can make it and soon you'll rise and see that your all worth it. Be kind, be humble, and be the person you want to be. Everytime i recalled of how i struggled of what i am now i wept and tell myself i have my own purpose of living. Now, im taking my masters degree in education while working.
My life revolves around serving, helping, and inspiring people especially the kids in my own little way.

IMG_20180408_193418.jpg

Sort:  

Wishing the both of you all the happiness in the world

Thank you @emrah67😊

Thank you @emrah67😊

Congratulations @lynngold! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @lynngold! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!