What do you give the man who has nothing?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I think many of us have had the frustrating experience of attempting to give a birthday gift to someone who "has it all". A frustrating conundrum in its own right of course- trying to find something they will appreciate and show your thoughtfulness, but they don't already have.

However, this post isn't about that. This post is a reflection of what to give a man who has nothing, from his woman who has equally as little.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

My "husband"'s 35th birthday is tomorrow. We figured after all these years, we'd be on a more stable ground. How many birthdays now have we said, "I'm sorry, I can only make you a card. But next year! We will go on a date, have a wonderful dinner just you and I. I'll be able to let the kids experience the gift of giving and give you something they really want. But this year, please excuse the crappy dollar store figurines they chose- but know they come from the heart."

What do you give the man who has holes in his socks? What do you give the man who has two pairs of shorts- the ones he's wearing, and the ones in the wash yesterday? We were at the store the other day, ready to get him some more, and, socks in hand, we realize: we can get a meal for our family of 5 for the price of these socks. His holes aren't THAT bad. At least compared to having dinner or not, they aren't. And besides- next week will be better, so we'll get them then. Ha! Famous last words!

So what do I give the man, who gives the paycheck he earns every day working in 100 degree South Carolina heat, to our family, and continues on with holes (and now mulch by the time the day is done) in his socks? The weathered man who dreamed with me of all the experiences we would experience. The bahamas? Ha! We will just be happy to have meat in this week's day before pay day spaghetti.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic


And we aren't unhappy. Don't get me wrong. We aren't materialistic. We are far to broke for that! Joking aside, I start each day with a list of the things I am grateful for, and can easily fill a page. We have a strobg partnership, and children who often bicker but always love. But these things aren't something you can package up, with a card that says "thanks for all that you do. We appreciate you," with a nice bow. Especially since the bow cost as much as the potential meat for our spaghetti.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

So I still don't know what to give the man who has nothing . All I have is my love, my admiration, my support, my appreciation. I have been giving them for years. I hope they are still enough. One day, it will be the bahamas
But this year, I think I should probably give him some socks.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
(this image is not mine. Here is the link it appears in. https://goo.gl/images/vJkr4G)



And just to clarify, we know that amid our nothing, we have everything. We are so blessed and grateful for the love of one another, and our family. I wouldn't trade it for the world.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sort:  

Nicely written. I liked it and I voted for it. Happy Steeming.

Thank you, I appreciate it!

Great post. I really admire your attitude and outlook on life. I wish my vote could help contribute to the next pair of socks, but alas, it didn't even budge a penny. Looking forward to reading your posts in the future. :)

Thanks so much for reading and commenting. This attitude has kept me sane lol. Your upvote is definitely appreciated more because you felt the post deserved it, rather then the monetary value attached to it. :)

WOW ! So Many Feels !! This is so beautifully written. You have an amazing family, and i love how grateful and positive you are despite the challenges that you face. I think a lot of parents end up in this same, or similar boats. I count myself blessed each day that i am able to live as comfortably as i do. Here's to hoping that your husband has a wonderful birthday, and know that he has it all at the end of the day, because he has a woman who cares so deeply for him,and a family to share his love with . Sending brightest blessings your way <3

WOW in return- thank you for your kind words and compliments! I showed him this post for his birhday; it only seemed fitting- beause like I said in my post, another thing that can't be wrapped up, but comes from the heart. I also shared with him your comment. He said said he wouldn't have changed a thing, and it wasn't about what he got, but how he felt; although we did get him some socks. lol. I have always been someone who can see the silver lining in things and see them for the positive impact they have, but lately I've started to try to practice habitual and consistient graditudes, mostly to help my husband as it is not as "natural" for him as it is for me- he has to work hard to redirect his thoughts. But wow, keeping attitude of gratitude releases SO much stress! I'm glad you count your blessings also, but although you may live comfortably, I know each life also has its own struggles. But- happiness isn't about a perfect life, its just about how you process the events of life. :) Again, thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment; it meant alot to both of us. I appreciate the blessings, and I heartly return them. :)

nice post you

Thanks, I appreciate you taking the time to give it a read. :)