Story Episode 1

in #life6 years ago

I am Chloé, born and raised in the Parisian suburbs. My family on each side came to France and settled in the same block; built for immigrants in the 60’s and still lived in today. Growing up, I wanted to understand what makes people leave their land and why some are still saddened by it.

I found whilst studying in Malta, that it wasn’t far from my family’s hard beginnings. Malnourished in southern Italy, they emigrated to North Africa. Settling there as miners and bricklayers, they again had to migrate to Paris when France left it’s Colonies.

Two exiles was hard to handle and already weakened, the three men of my family died from sickness. My dad, still a kid, was raised by the women, trying their best to settle once again.

After Malta, I still needed to travel. Massachusetts first, then Puerto Rico, China and Morocco. However the more I travelled, the more I felt my lack of roots. Like it was in my genes. A deep sadness and deeper loss.

But, quite suddenly, things have changed. I want my future children to be at peace wherever they end up. To belong where our feet stand.

And what made me change my thoughts? I met Nas in Malta by accident. Inspiring stories online I realise, are real actions in real lives. Facing it in my life was powerful.

How has the migration of you, your parents or your ancestors affected you?

21.jpg