HOW TO TRULY LIVE

in #life6 years ago

There are a few quotes from the book Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom that have particularly hit my nerves. Specifically, those talking about how to live your life.

We really don't experience the world fully, because we're half asleep, doing things we automatically think we have to do.

Image Source

WHAT DO YOU LIVE FOR?

I feel like everybody can relate to this as much I do. It is when you feel like everything is programmed -- you wake up, cook food, go to work, go home, sleep, and the cycle begins again. Then working sunrise to sunset, our [the "adults"] usual routine.  On some days, we don't even get to see the sun set. And the mothers and fathers, don't get to kiss their children goodnight. 

Making money, buying things, getting rich... sadly, these things have become the goals of many. Or, to put it in a more precise way, people started by dreaming of good life, eating 3 times a day, and a fat bank account that can be relied on on the rainy days...but, got lost in the journey. And as the days and years pass by, most have forgotten the reason why they are working in the first place.

These things are hardly realized. All too often, people only take a pause and reflect on what they truly want and how they really wanted their lives to be when they are, say, about to die.

When you realize you are going to die, you see everything much differently.

I remember this certain teacher in my college before, she became my favorite in my second year. Her facebook page became extra popular after her retirement. She went to many places, shared many photos of her journey (that earned many envious comments, of course), posted and commented inspirational words, and so on. To all, it seemed like she was enjoying her retirement. Little did everyone know, those were her lasts. She died the year after that.

WHAT IS THE ESSENCE OF LIFE?

Image Source

So, how do you exactly truly live? What is the real essence of life?

I asked these questions to myself right after finishing the book Tuesdays with Morrie. I paused, I thought of what I have done so far. Then I laughed. Man, I have done too little at all. That is when I looked for a piece of paper, took a pen, and wrote the things that meant a whole lot to me - God, family, friends, good relationship, freedom, and happiness. From there I started writing down the things I want and must do, the places and people I want and must see, and the feelings I want to experience and share.

So, you, if you have not realized the answers to those questions yourselves, then I encourage you to take a pause, think, and reflect. It is not too late to make a bucket list. 😉 Do not be that person who, at the verge of death, can only think of the what-ifs --- what if I married? what if I chose to teach than doing desk job? etc etc --- and regrets not having to experience them. Do not wait until you are about to die. LIFE IS SHORT.

The things you spend so much time on -- all this work you do -- might not seem as important.

MAKE A MARK

Image Source

This sounds kind of morbid but cool (I think) -- when I die, I want to be remembered as a happy person with faith and good heart. To be that, I made a few mantras to live by:

Strengthen Your Relationship With God

Life is short and it can be difficult. There will always be trying times. And it those moments, everybody needs a leap of faith.

Most often, you may not have to agree to this but people get to the lowest point of their lives and never get to rise again because of the lack of something to believe in and something to hold on to.

Find Your Purpose

Needless to say, everyone needs a drive to keep going. Or a target to keep that motivation. We, however, need to define it clearly to ourselves so as not to lose focus. We all need to remember that something that reminds us of why we do what we do -- our inspiration and breathing space.

Further, keep it in mind that goal and purpose go hand in hand but they are not exactly the same. Goal is what you want to have, purpose is the why.

Fall In Love

Someone who has not experience it yet will not know the feeling. But it certainly is something that is worth trying and should not be missed. Because nothing is more beautiful than the the feeling of loving and being loved.

Explore

Now, this is everybody's dream -- to travel, to get to see beautiful and exceptional sceneries, to get to explore different cultures. To some, it may be a luxury.; but to me, it is worth it. Memories are more than worth it.

Give Back

Because we do not see or not care to see how other people live, we get easily depressed when things do not go our way. But we are fortunate in more ways than we think we are. Be thankful for the things you have been blessed with. And give some to others who are lacking. I do not mean material things, what I am saying is... SPREAD THE LOVE.

♥ MaNin