You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opportunities Come to Those Who Prepare Themselves...

in #life6 years ago

Even defining work feels tricky when you're a freelance photographer. And it's not the same week after week.

Sometimes I travel for days and I gather new material - the sort of which I like and I would do for my soul and for everybody who eventually feels the same way about it. But years may pass before something I do now takes effect. All the rest is dust in the wind, right.

At other times I shoot thousands oh photos per day, for sometimes more than 10 or 12, or even 14 hours. And the next few days I have to edit the material until it satisfies me. Even though for a client it may not be necessary. But I want my images to speak for me and not for certain client's tastes. More dust in the wind.

And I need so much time to work on projects that I come up with and at some point I grow desperate with. If that's not dust... you know...

I had weeks of laziness and I am sorry now. I'm in the mood to work on tasks and tasks every spare minute. And I know this is wrong.

Why? I need to step back and be able to see the big picture. I met a man last year and he asked me what was the first thing I did in the morning. What was the second, the third and so on. Ok, I have tasks I answered but then he asked me what for - what was the purpose behind each task?

So I realized with his help that goals should come first even if prioritizing takes some of the time away.

Yes, I realize it now but I keep falling in my old habits. Give priority to others first - make promises, keep promises, make surprises, make them happy - small task after small task. I still work kind of blindly, though, just putting one foot in front of the other, hoping I get somewhere.

What is the big picture? What does it consist of?

This is the hardest part. Making a long-term plan. I still have just dreams but not the whole plan how to get there.

I am curious did you have a long-term plan and how it turned out.