Better Left Anonymous

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I have found myself wishing lately that my parents would have just told me I would live and die alone, because then I would believe that's normal, and therefore not feel lonely so much of the time.

Next time. They'll remember next time.

(Though unfortunately, we all know there's no "next time." So, since I am now an adult, I will take care of this myself.)

Sort:  

We all believe in you!

I will try to join you :)

We'll come for you in the night if we must. ;)

I wish I could offer specific advice on how to take care of this yourself, but I think recognizing that YOU CAN do that is a great start.

Thank you, really. If Step 1 is recognizing I'm responsible for myself, now I just need to figure out Step 2, and I guess we'll just see where that leads.

I would not presume to tell you what "Step 2" means. However, I would like to mention that there is a certain... I will call it "skill" to becoming comfortable with solitude. Perhaps that can have value all on its own. Then, once you feel competent at "Step 2," you do whatever for "Step 3." From the content of your original post, however, I would imagine "Step 3" would involve building interpersonal relationships with "authentic" people; i.e., people you meet who become your friends because they just like who you are (when you are "who you are," if you catch my meaning: in other words, not putting on a front or anything) and they enjoy spending time with you.

Alright, reading that last paragraph, I guess I /will/ presume to tell you what "Step 3" means, just not "Step 2," hahahahaha. But then, once you're done with "Step 3" you have friends who have become like family! Plus (and this is pure speculation from the tone of your post, and please forgive me if I'm jumping to conclusions), friendships can lead a lot of places: for example, I have a friendship that has recently become a business relationship, so it's hard to imagine that "romance" is somewhere that friendship for some reason can't lead.

That's my best advice, if you were even looking for advice in the first place.

Yes, I was, thank you :)

Congratulations @manyvoices! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!