The Accumulation of Lost Details

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1321.jpg

The staples of our lives, nailed to the pillar of our selves.

The parts of yourselves left behind. Like lost echoes. Small details. The person once living in those old familiar places. Now, never visited again or completely gone. The house of our childhood. That person you were in high school. Memories of lovers.

Or maybe it’s the people. All the people that pass through our lives. Are they the ones lost, left to the past? A detail in our memory, a part of our history, as we change and age. How lost or forgotten are we to them? Old friends no longer in contact.

And the pieces of the past disappears a little more. Lost details of whom we once were.

I sit and stare out at the person I use to be. Wanting to shake hands, and meet who I was, or going to be. That is not me, how I used to be, strange familiarity. I wonder what my past self would say about the present me.

Piling details, moments, and subtleties lost unable to return. Grasp out, our lives are written in disappearing ink, in a book yet unfinished.

We are passing strangers to ourselves.

IMG_1318.jpg

Sort:  

I have often thought the same thing, if only I could talk to who I used to be, but what would i say!? Such a fascinating post, i am following and can’t wait to see what’s next!

Could not have said it better myself.

I enjoy how you describe impermanence as the only stable truth. Experiencing finality and cycles of personal growth and destruction is surreal. I may never get used to it. Although I am fine with that.

Quality post! Thank you for what you do!

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

thank you for being more productive on steemit, your post looks nice

Congratulations @manyvoices! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!