Know What You Eat

in #life7 years ago (edited)


captive-chicken.jpg

Do you like meat?
Even if at the present time you are one of those meat lover people, I hope soon you will make a decision to change that.

Today I've seen a short video on YouTube depicting the conditions in which so called "free range" chicken live before landing on your plate. I will not link to that YouTube video because you can actually find plenty of them without looking too hard, if you want to inform yourself further.

However, upon seeing that short clip, I remembered why I made the choice of eliminating meat and animal products from my diet, well one of the reasons. The cruelty those animals are treated with is appalling. They are not treated as living beings, more like some kind of garbage, and remember that is supposed to be food.

The environment they live in is overcrowded, and highly toxic, so much, that those chicken were looking more like they've been thru some kind of nuclear war, partly featherless, kept in the dark, and pretty much feed who knows what, but nothing that resembles food in any form. Their feces are lying around, in putrefaction and producing ammonia, which is acidic and the reason for loosing the feathers. I should also mention that those chickens which die in that cesspool, and no wonder some do, are to lie in there rotting for days, before being removed, while some of those alive start feeding on them, we are talking cannibalism here.

I also remember a while back I've seen a farm of ducks, those little creatures were being kept basically still, with some kind of frame around their body, with their beaks held up and a tube shoved down their throat being force-feed regularly a sort of composition that was meant to enlarge their liver for obvious commercial purposes. Those poor ducks were never able to walk, nor stand. When I saw that it reminded me of the Matrix movie, the scene in which Neo wakes up in the tank with all those plugs connected to his body.

Also I've seen pig and cow farms, where those animals live in filthy conditions, abused, roughed-up and beaten up by those who call themselves human beings...

But the human cruelty doesn't stop here, you should see how dolphins are hunted down and brutality murdered, even tough they are supposed to be a protected species, but that doesn't always apply.

If you were not aware that such horrifying things take place, than I urge you to research the subject for yourself. Burst your own bubble and get out, see what is happening and you are not supposed to know about.

I don't know about you but I wouldn't want to feed myself on some poor animal that suffered its entire existence and was cruelly treated in such miserable captivity conditions. Would you like to be treated that way? I don't think so. We are all living beings, and are meant to live free in communion with each other and with nature itself.

Besides, I also happen to believe that fruits and vegetables are the proper food to maintain a healthy body and mind. How many more reasons do you want to stop the cruelty?

I hope I gave you some food for thought here, and you will be a little more considerate of what goes on your plate.

09 August 2017
Marius C.

Sort:  

Good post, we definitely try to eat less meat, and don't eat any beef or pork. I found you via @OCD. peace

Thank you, long ago I used to eat a lot of pork, and liked meat a lot, but these days I had totally changed my diet. I think we are conditioned by society that this or that is tasty and healthy, but we need to educate ourselves and make the right choices for us as well as for the environment/nature.