Farewell @onceuponatime, dear Paul...

in #life4 years ago

Today our dearest @onceuponatime decided to leave from the beginning of the stories we love, and move to the beginning of a journey to the great unknown, leaving his family and the rest of us devastated and torn for his loss.

Not many days ago @stan posted a tribute for Paul https://steemit.com/bitshares/@stan/tribute-to-paul-onceuponatime-martello informing the Steemit community on his situation and sharing his agonies. Thanks to this post but also his brother’s (@kus-knee ) and his other friends’ endeavors (special thanks to @liondani), Paul had enough time to hear tens of loving and supporting messages at the most difficult time of his life.

I want to believe that Paul left us with his heart at peace. But what about our hearts?

Thanks to my best friend @mf-tzo, I joined the Steemit community back in 2016, and @onceuponatime was one of the first dolphin (or maybe whale) that I stumbled upon. I have been upvoted and downvoted by him, I have received applaud and I have received criticism, but either way thanks to this man and a few others I have been consistently kept involved and motivated to participate, to create, to open up, to expose myself to a worldwide community. I have received. We have received. Even if it was one cent or a hundred dollars so many of us have received from him in a world that does everything to take anything it can.

Paul was right there at the beginning of so many projects that were created to give value to their communities. He never asked support for himself, but he always asked help for someone else, someone who truly needed it.

Nobody is perfect, we all make mistakes, we all show our bad self from time to time, but how often do we get out of our way to help others? How often do we proactively offer ourselves and our resources to a greater cause? In the end, we will not be remembered for our mistakes but for the things we did right. Paul knew that.

Dear Paul, my friend, @onceuponatime… THANK YOU for everything you have done for me, for supporting my friends, for appreciating my art, for encouraging me to write, for forgiving me for not being around, for not hating me when I was being such an arrogant shit at times (most of the time). …and I’ M SORRY. I’ M TRULLY SORRY you are gone. You will be missed, by me, by @sofi-m, by @tikotiko, by @mf-tzo… but most importantly…

@kus-knee, @liondani, @stan, @eric-boucher… I am sorry for your loss. I know how much he loved you and your families and how much you loved him.

Dear Steemers, and I address especially the Greek community, @liondani told me that if we think of @onceuponatime in our prayers and acts of kindness, we will help him with his journey. I like to believe, I want to believe that this is true so as a token of appreciation to him, please let’s do that; a prayer, a candle, a small donation in his memory.

I'd like to end this post with a few photos and a song by his favorite artist.

DSC01479.JPG
1st Steemit meetup in Athens

transcendence (2).jpg
With my painting Transcendence created for him and his new house

20161112_095556.jpg
1st Steemfest at Amsterdam

with daniel (2).jpg
Happy times at Loutraki with @liondani

thumbnail.jpg
In reality he was always Greek

Sort:  

tky5kg.jpg

Words don't come easy...

@liondani you gave him a Greek family <3

Oh my gosh! I had no idea he passed away! He was one of my supporters and understood my value for the community. It was nice meeting him in amsterdam for the first @steemfest RIP @onceuponatime 😭

He was someone that was at the helm of most things I knew on steem and he was really instrumental to my growth here. RIP to dear @onceuponatime

good paradise ... good journey...let's rest in peace with God.
Mr Paul εύχομαι το ταξίδι της ψυχής σας γαλήνιο και και συναρπαστικό όσο σε αυτή τη ζωή τόσο και στην καινούργια...
Συλλυπητήρια στην οικογένεια και τους φίλους του @onceuponatime...

I met him in Athens, he was a great guy, we will miss you...

R. I. P. dear Paul,we miss you 😢😢😢😢

He will definitely miss you...

I remember meeting him in Amsterdam and enjoying our very first SteemFest. Sad news...

Thank you @mariandavp for keeping us informed.
All my condolence to his family and friends. RIP Paul.

Thank you for reminding me of that 1st Steemfest @arcange, that was where I met him too and most of you. Good memories...

So pathetic!

So depressing!!

What a loss to the steemit community!!

Though his presence lingers , but by his various good legacies to the community!!

Adeu, the QUINTESSENTIAL hero!

Bye @onceuponatime!

So sad. He didnt even have time to see his latest project to come fully to life. (Beos) :(

I know... 😭 Hopefully it will go to the moon

I had a feeling... after reading Stan's post. Paul liked doing things his own way and wasn't generally swayed by other people's words.

Enjoy the next great adventure, my friend!

I never got to meet him in person, but he was one of the first people I connected with here... we'd have long philosophical discussions in comments about life, alternate economics, freedom and the meaning of life. You will be missed.

A couple of times I've engaged with him were quite fun. Farewell.

I remember 2 years ago @onceuponatime had a contest about what lies behind the mystery door. He seemed to really like my entry coz he was so generous with an huge upvote I was astonished. This was about the first time I had interacted with him. He surely was a man of generosity that enjoyed having a laugh and had a very quick wit. Often we would add music videos to our comments, which was fun. I was so saddened to hear of his condition, yet I was not surprised by how he decided to handle it. @onceuponatime and @twiceuponatime, you will be missed.

still can't believe this ... he was there for all of us had a great sense of humor and always used to support everyone i am in shock right now don't know what to say ...you will be missed @onceuponatime R.I.P

Farewell.

Rest in pace my dear Paul. I will always remember you with love 😥

So sad to hear the news, he was a person full of life and energy. His projects, deep thinking, personal stories, witty jokes and great support will remain as his legacy for us.

It is devastating to learn about this
Paul was one of the first persons to talk to me here and to motivate me to stay and keep trying ..
I always sensed that he really enjoyed what he was doing and I admired his deep knowledge for blockchain and other topics. His humor, wit and energy, did not go by unnoticed ..

My deep condolences to his family and to his friends .........

Thank you Marian for this post ..

I'm saddened by this news. I will miss our conversations online over Steem, India and so many other things from our early days here as well as the moments when we met during SteemFest. RIP Paul. You are missed!

My sincere condolences to his family and friends.
Thank you @mariandavp for informing us.

Awe--feeling the love that was shared with our friend @onceuponatime! Thanks for this post @mariandavp--grateful to be with you all in spirit in his honor.

Thank you for your loving energy @everlove...

And you for sharing yours @mariandavp! <3 <3 <3

My heartfelt condolences. He has preceded us to a better place.

Very sad, my condolences to his family and friends!

We should have memorial accounts for steemians too the way Facebook has where it can be set up that this steemian has moved on since some peoples families won't have to ability to update it and steemians may never know what happens to some of their friends they make here

Thank you @chekohler... That's really good idea actually. Especially for important and active members of the community.

R.I.P Paul. It's clear you left an impact on this world.

May he rest in piece.. :(

R.I.P Paul.

Oh may He Rest in Peace such a noble man.

So sorry to hear this news. I didn't know Paul, but it is very obvious that he touched a lot of lives all around the world.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm very sorry, RIP @onceuponatime.

RIP to a great legend..

You are unforgettable and your contribution to the community will be remembered forever...

I never had the chance to meet Paul (because I was an idiot that didn't go to STEEMFest 1), but I saw him around on the blockchain often. Very saddened to hear this news.

Rest in Peace @onceuponatime. May there be a happily ever after awaiting you.

Rest in Peace Paul

Wow I am just seeing our loss...I've been thinking of my friend @onceuponatime every day for years, every day I log on Steem...I have missed him over the last several months...it's strange that even though he was already a world away, somehow he now feels even farther...

I love you because you were a true friend

Sorry for your loses, this was a man with a lot of history, Rest in peace.

This is a very moving story, and anyone will feel sad if the loss of someone who is always good and always loved, but all that is a destiny that must be passed by every human being. May this trip be blessed. 🙏🙏🙏

I’m so sorry to learn about his passing. An invaluable asset to multiple dpos chains, but mostly as I remember him at SF1 and bitfest an utmost kind person(ality).

once upon a time @onceuponatime

You will be very missed my friend and never forgotten. Farewell and may the angels and good spirits always be with you.

Congratulations @mariandavp!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 1 with $ 76,5

Thank you @arcange for the mention... of course I have declined payout for this post.

So did I when I lost my friend while at SteemFest 1. All in your honor.
The loss of a good friend is invaluable.

I had no idea... We were all so excited about Steemfest, we failed to notice your sorrow. I am really sorry @arcange. And what a great post, how true this numbness that you mention when you don't really know how you are feeling.

I did not know your friend but you his family and friends are in my prayers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @mariandavp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post got the highest payout of the day

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

OMG, he was also one of the first whales who voted my posts a long time ago. We will miss him for sure. Thank you paul for everything!!

Wow I don't knew it that he pass away. Was a shame. I remember him from the old days in steemit some years ago. Rip

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment