Starting Over

in #life4 years ago

StartingOver.jpg

In the last three months, I have gone through a divorce. It was coming pretty unexpectedly, for both of us. My ex-wife and I have reached a mutual agreement amicably because we both tried to embrace change.

I am therefore moving my coffee cup from my home near Zurich to my sailboat. Given travel restrictions, it unclear whether I am allowed to travel from Switzerland across Germany into Holland where my boat is. Even though I feel that by driving alone in my car I will not put myself or anyone else in danger, I am at the mercy of border control officers.

Anyways, I am entering a new phase both in my life and, coincidently, here on Hive.

Sanctity of Private Property vs. Sanctity of Verbal Agreements

I will continue posting here on Hive and leave Steem behind. I feel that this is no perfect choice, either. Justin complained that the community witnesses violated the sanctity of property. The community witnesses complained that Justin was using ninja-mined tokens, that supposedly are reserved for development only, to vote.

In the absence of a court system that decides which of the violations weighs heavier, the blockchain split into two. I have chosen Hive, however, I feel that the Hive team (aka consensus witnesses) might just as well run the backend on a distributed Oracle database as I need to trust them anyways.

To me, this fork showed the outer limits of DPOS and I will no longer entrust larger sums on any DPOS blockchain.

Sort:  

To me, this fork showed the outer limits of DPOS and I will no longer entrust larger sums on any DPOS blockchain.

This what I have in mind when I saw my name on "airdrop exclusion list", if everyone can simply leave a blokchain and pick whoever they want to include or not in the new one, it simply shows that immutability / decentralization is not really what it says it is.

However, since I value the presence of the community that come along with Hive, I have chosen this place to be my home. Community over money.

That's me moving on from my rage few days ago. I'm taking this journey as a fresh start.

Contrary to common belief, divorce is a good thing. Not pleasing, but often necessary. I don't know how do you handle it, but if you want some bitter but soothing laugh, Louis C.K has an unique way of explaining things.

I'm glad you have come to this conclusion, even though you may disagree with some parameters of the fork. You have been very supportive of various initiatives on steem over the years. That being said, we don't only need witnesses to be the activist investors here. That is precisely why more stakeholders such as yourself are required to keep them in check. Also, the plan is to reduce the number of witness votes to well below 20, which means that the various witnesses will need to compete more for votes, and it will become very difficult for a single party or stakeholder like justin sun to exert his will onto the network.

Hive isn't perfect either but the stance on true decentralization is why I will stand with hive anyday anytime. Welcome to give I hope to seeing you do what you do best. Cheers

Grüezi Marius, I hope you'll get to your boat and hoist the sails!

Better times will come. Good luck with Your reset. :D

Sad to know about the divorce although we don’t have control of our life sometimes. However, welcome to Hive.

It is better to confess to oneself, to be honest, than to live in discontent. Therefore, new for the better. Welcome to Hive.

To me, this fork showed the outer limits of DPOS and I will no longer entrust larger sums on any DPOS blockchain.

Yes. I think we need to have a lot in different places. Of course, nothing is better than gold that you can hold directly in your hands.

I wish you the best for a fresh start in life!

Starting over may not be easy however it could also be an opportunity to live the life that you wish it could be.

Let me share a beautiful quote from John Lennon:

"Life is what happens when you are busy making other plans."

Have a great day. Stay safe & healthy.

I have also gone through a divorce, and I can (maybe) understand how you feel. You have made a good choice to be alone in the boat: I wish you to find strength and enthusiasm! 🙏

Sanctity of Private Property

This sentence, on the mouth of a person who was (rather ridiculously) called "communist", made me very smile: it will be that the word "saint" I use it for special people and not for an object created from nothing (or from [dis]human madness) like money or cryptocurrencies?

A warm hug!

Crazy. Just catching up on this ... while I'm sure it's been a rough road, at least you can be comforted that you are not even remotely alone in beginning on a new direction in life. This lockdown coincided with me making a big move towards soundtracking and away from recording bands ... so I'm shutting a business down amidst the chaos. Hope it all works out for both of us!!

It is a new beginning, true. But we are not starting from scratch.

Fortunately, our friends at Steemit are all here (for now).
The bonds of friendship must last, the projects must continue to be executed and developed.

We have a lot to our advantage. Perhaps this "reset" will serve to see the panorama with a new perspective.

I wish you the best of luck for your new chapter my friend.
It's great to see you here and guess what? I have a new song out called CHAPTERS.
If you'd like a listen, here it is...

Speak soon and please update us all on your travels in the sail boat? Thank you for your support for me and my music Marius, it's greatly appreciated.
DC 🙏🎼

Hey there, been a minute since I saw you around. Great to see you on this side of the chain, hope all goes well for you. xo :)