My story: Who am I? God, Family Country

in #life6 years ago (edited)

fort-mchenry4.png

Who am I ?

I am a child born in Baltimore, Maryland. This is the place where during the war of 1812 Francis Scott Key wrote the Star Spangled Banner. As British ships were approaching the small Fort McHenry U.S. soldiers defended the Flag. As Key gazed at the Fort from the shore he noticed that against great odds the soldiers held the Fort thru the night and the Flag stood tall. Later on, the Star Spangled Banner became the U.S. National Anthem. I am proud to be born in a place that has a history of great defensive soldiers.

flag.png
Who am I?

I am a teenager who attended Christian school at age 13. On Valentines day of that year I gave my life to God thru faith in Jesus Christ. When I went home to tell my family they all celebrated my new faith and they too came to a belief in Christ in the years that followed. I was lost then my life had meaning and a purpose.

Army.png
Who am I?

I am a young man at the age of 23 who enlisted in the United States Army to serve my country and be apart of something much bigger then I was. While in the Army I found another person who wanted to make this world a better place, she was smart and had features that interested me enough to marry her.

rrt1.png
Who am I?

I am an adult with two children and a wife who is a Respiratory Therapist. She takes care of people who are leaving this world, comforting them as they struggle to breath and pass from this life. I am the husband who tries to comfort his wife who has seen death first hand and has had to comfort the hurting families.

grad.gif
Who am I?

I am the son who graduated from college, a feat that none of my ancestors before me completed. Fulfilling my childhood dream of becoming a computer programmer.

grieving.jpg
Who am I?

I am a father of 4 children who lost his youngest son just 2 months after graduating college. My son died trying to breath in a confined area filled with smoke. To think that my wife who helped people breath so families could say their last goodbyes, was denied that last goodbye. I became the heartbroken father who found his lifeless 2 1/2 year old son. I will never forget the terror that I felt that day. Since then there has been a pain inside of me that will never go away.

doc.png
Who am I?

I am the husband of a wife who is a medical school student. She is working hard toward her childhood dream of becoming a doctor and educating people about their health. After years of additional education she will finally be a medical doctor in 2019.

programmer.png
Who am I?

I am now a computer programmer for the local Sheriff's office. I write software that helps those who serve and protect my local community.

It is 10 years today that I lost my son. It has been an emotional day but God has sent me signs of hope and he lets me know that he cares about my pain. One day I will leave this world and when I do I would hope that I have been a light in this world and that who I am has made a difference in other peoples lives. In the Army I learned the hierarchy of importance. God, then Family then Country. I try to live that creed everyday. Thank you for reading