Are you feeling Lucky's?

in #life6 years ago

When I lived in California, we had a grocery store called Lucky Supermarkets.  I liked this store and there was one right near my house where I grew up.  When I heard one was coming to Sarasota, Florida, I got all excited!  The only problem was that it was not the same chain as the one in California.  This store is called Lucky's Market not Supermarket.  This is a different company that started in Bolder, Colorado in 2003 by two chefs.  

So, these two chefs named Trish and Bo came up with idea for a grocery store that sold mostly organic foods.  They wanted a store that would sell it at a fair price.  Here is what their web site says about what they wanted - " They went to health food stores because they didn’t want pesticides and growth hormones. They explored weekend farmer’s markets for really fresh produce. And gourmet stores because that’s where they found the world’s best flavors. They were always looking for good, wholesome food for themselves and their kids. Yet they still shopped at conventional stores for the traditional ingredients their grandmothers used to make the foods they grew up with."

More from Lucky's website - " But something wasn’t sitting well. Why did they have to shop at so many different places? Why did those places seem welcoming to some people, but not all people? And why did the highest quality food always come with the highest price tag? It didn’t feel right. So Trish and Bo decided to do something about it. They didn’t care how everybody else did it. They wanted to do it right. So they created an entirely different kind of store. Lucky’s Market. 

When you first walk in the door, to the right is this great little place to get some drinks and light snacks. They have chairs and tables to sit at.  There are also tables outside if you want to enjoy the Florida sun.

Here you can see the big table, great if you are with a group or maybe want to have a small meeting.  You can see the tables outside. 

The owners of Lucky's thought that the grocery stores that sold mostly organics before them, we know who that is, has become really expensive and they acted like they were doing you a big favor bringing it to you. Just past the little cafe, you see there extensive coffee isle. 

Over to the left is "The Kitchen", where you can get made to order sandwiches and pizza. They also have some that are ready to go.  They call these "Hot to Trot".  You can also find your deli meets and cheeses here.  I was starting to get hungry!

Just past that was where you can get your Seafood and steaks. Here is a little more form Lucky's website about what they believe - " We believe good food shouldn’t be a luxury, it should be a right. If you don’t want to eat things like pesticides, antibiotics and growth hormones, you shouldn’t have to. Natural and organic food shouldn’t be priced out of your reach. We also have the crazy notion that we shouldn’t adopt a holier-than-thou attitude if your grandma’s recipe calls for something that doesn’t fit some people’s idea of what’s good for you. 

 So we created a store that will hook an entire generation on eating a little bit healthier. A store that does serious work, without taking itself too seriously. A store dedicated to good food. And making sure that everyone can enjoy it."

They also have a very nice salad bar.

They had a selection of olives.  I'm not that big into olives, but they looked good!

Now, here is my favorite spot in the store, the Ramen and Sushi bar.  You can get several kinds of delicious ramen and fresh sushi.  They even have a little bar you can sit at and enjoy your food. They do have a limited selection of sushi that is ready to go if you are in a hurry.

How is this for a beer isle? They should have anything you desire!

Now, one of the big selling points for me, is the extensive selection of organic fruits and produce.  They try to get as much of it as they can locally, and I like that. 

Here are the fruits!

For your outdoor enthusiasts, they have a nice selection of Trail Mix.  I got myself a little bag to take with me to The Celery Fields for when I go to watch the sunset latter. 

Oh, and don't for get the Granola!

They even have a little juice bar where they freshly squeeze orange and grapefruit juice everyday.

 

Don't forget some flowers or fresh herbs!

They do have all your basic stables and most everything else you would find at a grocery store in the middle isle, but that is not what most people come to this store for. 

A little inside information on this store, is that it is part of a mall.  It sits where one of the big department stores called Dillard's was.  Dillard's closed as a new mall called UTC was opened up about 10 miles away and Dillard's had a store there. Part of Dillard's space here is also an LA Fitness.  So, the mall has done a good job of  filling the space left empty by Dillard's.

Here is a look at part of the outside of the mall.

This mall is not on Siesta Key, it is just the first mall you come to when you drive off the north bridge of the key. I think the name is a little misleading myself. 

So, I hope you liked a little tour of Lucky's Market, I will be back again and again.  If you want quality organic foods at a good price, this is the place!

100% my work, except where noted.




Sort:  

Nice one mark :) i love oranges!

Thanks for stopping by!

Loved the Lucky's in Gainesville, FL and now that you have shown me where it is in Southwest FL (my new home) I will be visiting soon. Great pizza slices! Specials galore. Excellent pics and info.

Wowww...your supermarket looks so fancy! It is well organized and has plenty of stock. Your lucky you’ve given comfortable shopping 🛒 by LUCKY’S MARKET. Thanks @markvance

Thanks for reading my post! I hope you are having fun in the PH!

My pleasure to read your post @markvance. Thank you for sharing nice photos.

Wow,, amazing food,
I appreciate your post,, thanks for sharing this post,,,resteemit

Waw,, orange fruit, full fresh @markvance .

After seeing your photography of that Lucky's market .
I really want to visit there , but though i know that is impossible .
Appreciate of that market's environment and fresh foods .
Thanks for sharing with us . @markvance
Keep going , waiting for next one .

Great food photograpy,,
I upvote your post,,,

Thanks for the great and the effort put in by you to deliver such quality work. You get a resteem from me.

Great content..... keep going on.... This content make me happy..... Really i appreciate you.

Trish and Bo are doing absolutely great work ,

Thank you. for sharing benefits

great keep enjoy.

i wish i can visit it right now !
but it is far away

Its very nice i like it

Wow this nice food post......i like it......

@markvance your photography is amazing .
I see all of those photography.
Thanks for sharing this.

upvote and Resteem is done by me

seems like the place for organic food. thanks for sharing your experience.

encouraging & delightful!

Hi friends steemians i @sayutiyusuf newcomers greet all friends, seniors, master steemit and all that is in this comment may best friend steemians all successful and triumph always in the future. I am a newcomer to the world of steemit introducing myself to all steemians friends in order to be willing to follow, vote, share experiences and knowledge that steemians friends get all this time, not sharing that well 😀. steemians friends, this is all I can do as a newcomer. best friend steemians willing to help me in achieving success together. Thank you very much.
image

this great food I appreciate your life thanks for sharing.resteemit..

Thank you @markvance for the post! I really enjoyed reading and looking at your pictures (cool gifs :-)) in your well written post. I wish I had such a nice grocery store in my neighborhood. In Oslo, Norway, where I live, buying food is a rather boring affair. Lots of shop but as most of theme are part of on of the domination chains as Spar, Kiwi, Rema1000 and Meny. They look the same and have the same selection. All the best from @kristihh

Good pics, Thin I'm going loopy looking at Lucky's!!