Cortez, Florida Sea Food Fest

in #life6 years ago

I went to the Cortez Sea Food Fest a while back. It is held every year and has been going on for 38 years. Cortez is a historic fishing village near the Gulf of Mexico. It still is a working fishing village, one of the few left in Florida! Here is what a website says about the Charity it helps. Not my writing.

It’s charity
The event is put on by the Florida Institute for Saltwater Heritage (FISH) Preserve, which tends to about 100 acres along the Sarasota Bay shoreline. Dr. Angela Collins, an expert on reef fish, said the festival is really just one big fundraiser.

“All the proceeds go back to environmental restoration to keep non-native species out of there and to keep that ecosystem healthy,” she said.

About 20,000 people come to the festival every year. It is lots of fun and of course there is lots of food and drink. It usually has a pirate theme running through it. Kids love this.

The best way to get there is to park and take the bus. Parking is very hard in the area when the festival is going on. I actually have a friend that lives in Cortez and I park at his house and either walk or he gives me a ride and drops me off close to the front.


Besides food, many pop-up tents are put up with people selling lots of arts and crafts.

I got one of these signs once.

Lots of great art, especially with a nautical theme.

One of my favorite booths, was the coconut rum drink one. They had real coconuts that they hollowed out and put rum in. It was very good.

One of the business in Cortez.

They also have fun thing for kids to do, like this climbing wall.

Looks like fun!

What kid doesn't like face painting?

And yes, they do have lots of live music during the festival.

You never know what you are going to see.

Here are some pics of people having fun!

Here is one of the fishing boats in Cortez.

Here is a map of the area from my iPhone. You can see the red pin just below where it says Bradenton.

I had a great time at this festival and plan to go again! If you are in the area, it is held the middle of February and the weather is usually very good! If you like stone crab claws, this is definitely the place to be!

Sort:  

Is its Stone crab season yet?

I'm si enjoying to read this post thank you for it

I'd really love to visit those kind of festivals.

Unfortunately, we don't have anything similar to that in Croatia.

Sure, we had a car show like a week ago in Zagreb, but this looks a lot crazier...

And I like it.

Thanks, I like car shows to.

Thanks for great food..i like this traveling..i appreciate this life..
upvote and resteemit.

This is delicious drinking,
i appreciate your traveling.
all the best my dear friend.

wow you are enjoying a lot ...its a big opportunity so keep enjoying and be happy thanks

I really like florida i hope to visit it one day

That's a great travel...

That's a great food and with delicious.
Thanks for sharing this post..

This is wonderful fiesta to the fact it managed to be celebrate for 35 years .i enjoyed reading it .

Great post - I'll have to do that next year.