Life With My Adopted Bunny Brothers

in #life4 years ago

It's been six months since we adopted our two rabbits and life is never dull with the brothers around. I've never owned more than one rabbit at a time so it's been a learning experience having two.

IMG_1291.jpg

Meet Lenny

IMG_1310.jpg

And Pumpkin Spice

IMG_2538.jpg

For years now I've dearly missed my Marx the rabbit who passed away in 2016. I feared getting another bunny because I consider them a more fragile pet with a shorter lifespan and you never know how long their sweet faces will be with you. Marx was in my life six wonderful years and it hurt so much to lose him.

Earlier this year in my downtime I found myself on craigslist in the pets and farm and garden categories looking at all the local animals people were selling. Rabbits are pretty popular and in August I saw this little face....

IMG_1286.JPG

It was love at first sight. I set up a meeting with the seller and my husband, daughter, and I went to meet around 20 baby bunnies. My husband fell in love with a black and white brother of the one I wanted and we went home with two baby rabbits.

IMG_1309.jpg

For a little while, baby Pumpkin Spice and Lenny stayed in a really huge dog cage so they'd have space to roam. Little Rabbit, my 3 year old, absolutely loved the bunnies. She'd sit with them and talk with them for hours. I had the hardest time keeping her out of the cage. She'd get in there and lay down and snuggle with them. Eventually, as all babies do, they grow up. Little Rabbit figured out how to open the cage and Pumpkin Spice and Lenny were constantly out of the cage and Little Rabbit was in it pretending to be a bunny.

IMG_1316.jpg

The cage was retired and the bunny brothers now roam free with little litter box stations positioned all around the house.

IMG_1393.jpg

Interestingly, but not surprisingly, our 17 year old cat Vicki loved the bunnies. She camped out on their cage while they lived in there and afterwards she moved to the rooms they played in the most. She loved Marx and I feel she was depressed without him. Vicki has always disliked other cats and animals except Marx. She started acting like an old cat when he died. When the new bunnies arrived she was a kitten again. She seems so much happier having bunnies again. I'm so thankful for the brothers for making our elderly cat so happy and full of life.

IMG_2550.jpg

Pumpkin Spice is a pretty wild guy. He's often found high up on tops of couches, climbing to the top of boxes in closets, and trying to steal food he shouldn't have. He's so entertaining and I love him.
IMG_2541 (1).jpg

Shortly after we got him, I realized Lenny's eye was cloudy. You can see it a bit in the picture before with him and Vicki. A trip to the vet to get the boys neutered, I learned he was blind in one eye. Even though he is partially blind, Lenny navigates the house really well.He keeps his ear on his good eye side down and his ear with his blind up up so he can focus on sounds better on his blind side. He is the boss. He dominates Pumpkin Spice and is a much bigger rabbit. He's the one who is guilty of eating the wall in the living room and a hole in the carpet in the bedroom.

IMG_2537 (1).jpg

Even though we have two rabbits, so far, they haven't done as much damage as Marx did when we first got him. I was better prepared this time and rabbit proofed wires and important things. It's so much fun to see them hopping around the house. Pumpkin Spice is a cuddly guy. Lenny not so much. He's a it skittish at times since he can't see well. He enjoys pets but he also runs if you come towards him too fast.

I'm glad Lenny ended up with his brother since he is partially blind. I worry he'll be fully blind someday which will be scary for the little guy. At least he has his brother with him to be by his side.

I'm still not back guys but I'll try to post a bit here and there if I'm feeling up to it. Health-wise the medicine I'm on has me feeling better in some ways but in other ways I'm not. I do miss being here and seeing all my friends.

Sort:  

Wow... aholes in walls and carpet. Those guys are a bit destructive! Well, I suppose most pets are, really. The cats I'm taking care of even managed to tip over a cactus plant the other day. The damage there was more to my hand, but tweezers got the barbed spines out eventually.

I'm glad your cat enjoys themm. A little harmony goes a long way, right?

I hope you feel at 100 soon! <3

These bunnies are super adorable, I miss having bunnies but my temperamental chihuahuas and hen who thinks she's my sister are more than I can handle right now lol

This is adorable, your pets have wonderful personalities. All the best for a speedy recovery!

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment