What is this fruit name in English and your language?

in #life5 years ago

Friday which is our weekend, we went to our garden and I took these pictures there. This fruit is just like greengages but it's super sour when it's unripe.

I'm wondering what is it's name?😅 let me know if you know about it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It looks like cranberry... but cranberry is sour and bitter even after ripe.

My other thought was that it could be a cherry yet, it does not seem dark red enough for cherry.

I'll go with "cranberry"

Posted using Partiko Android

Then cranberry it is. you are right, it was sour even after it was completely ripe! Well, better say sweet and sour at the same time.
Thanks, I learned it's name after all 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

But, I think cherry is sour too. I didn't know what greengage is. And, now I think maybe that tree can be a plum tree. Do the fruit grow to fit in palm of hand?

Plums can to be sour and sweet. I only like them when they are VERY ripe and sweet.

https://www.google.com/search?q=plum+tree&client=firefox-b-m&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiczZH8h6LjAhVWZM0KHRg4B7UQ_AUIBigB&biw=420&bih=618#mhpiv=2&spf=1562476883967

This is a plum tree.

The leaves on your tree don't match leaves on cherry or cranberry tree so, I must be wrong.

Posted using Partiko Android

And here is a photo that says It might be red plum or greengage. We don't have greengage in Canada... not even imported to grocery store.

https://www.123rf.com/photo_105203264_red-plums-or-greengage-on-a-plum-tree-bush-.html

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh didn't know that it can't be found there!
Anyway, thanks for your time

Posted using Partiko Android

Actually it's not palm tree cuz we have one of them and they are different. I mean the tree and it's fruit. I have searched about it and the nearest thing I could find was greengages. Mostly greengages are green and the fruit is sweet but this one is red and fruit is sour and sweet. But still they call it greengages like the green version. In our language, both of them, green and red version called as "گوجه سبز".

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!