DEF CON 26 - Are you going?! I am! Calling all 1337 h4x0rz! [AUGUST 9 - 12, Las Vegas, NV]

in #life6 years ago (edited)

DEF CON 26 [August 9 - 12 Las Vegas, NV]

Are you going?!  If not, you should be.


A life long dream of mine if about to become a reality.  I'm finally going to make it out to Def Con!  So far, it looks like I'll be attending with @wakeupjohnny (for sure) and possibly @chronogn.  If you're a "computer person," too, this might be right up your alley.  I encourage you to check it out and to seriously consider attending.  If you go, or plan on going, say so in the comments and we'll plan on meeting up while we're out there!

So WTF is Def Con, you ask?  Well, after consulting the FAQ, they describe it as 

"DEF CON is one of the oldest continuously running hacker conventions around, and also one of the largest."

Def Con is 26 years old this year!  They've been known for their antics throughout the years, raising absolute hell across Las Vegas, hacking everything they can possibly get away with.  Needless to say, it's a good rule of thumb to leave sensitive electronics at home and to possibly carry an old school Nokia instead of your smart phone.  Do not trust anything that seems trustworthy!

Let's look at the FAQ some more.

 What is there to do at DEF CON? 
DEF CON is a unique experience for each con-goer. If you  google around you'll find dozens of write-ups that will give you an idea  of what people have experienced at DEF CON. Trust write-ups more than  media articles about the con. Some people play capture the flag 24x7,  while many people never touch a computer at DEF CON. Some people see  every speech they can, while others miss all speeches. Other activities  include contests, movie marathons, scavenger hunts, sleep deprivation,  lock picking, warez trading, drunken parties, spot the fed contest, the  official music events. Because DEF CON is what the attendees make of it,  there are more events than even we are aware of. Half the fun is  learning what happened at DEF CON after the fact! 

In other words, if you're like me, and you're glued to a computer screen 24/7/365, these are your people, these are our people.  This is where people like "us," go to cut loose a little bit and have fun.  Nerd congregation vacation.  

So . . . are you going?  Let's start a gang.

Sort:  

Yo, have fun, bro! Glad you can go and attend it this year since it's been on your to do list for a long time apparently, lol. My advice is to make sure you go buy a switchblade, jacket and some hair grease if you wanna start a gang though. Maybe hot glue some pieces of RAM on the sleeves of the jacket as a show of your status and pedigree.

GOOD IDEA.

In other words, if you're like me, and you're glued to a computer screen 24/7/365, these are your people, these are our people. This is where people like "us," go to cut loose a little bit and have fun. Nerd congregation vacation.

I'll have to be glued 24/7/365 to the computer screen for now. Maybe next year. But I wish you a lot of fun!

Come this year! You've got a month to plan! You can work there with ease, I can let you tether from my device (got some tricks up my sleeve with that, unlimited unthrottled 4G ;-)). Ya know ya wanna.

Haha - that's nice of you! But I really can't come. :/

Well . . . shit! Maybe next year, eh?

Happy for you ... that DefCon is within your grasp. I am too glued to CS 24/7 but i am no hacker, no gamer or a programmer. I just search new technology things.I am just a searcher without any skills.
Have fun and do not forget to Share your DFCon experience.

Oh, the experience will be shared!

It doesn't matter whether or now you're a "hacker," or a tech enthusiast or whatever. As long as the content draws your attention and you're interested, you're right where you need to be. You're right at home.

I never knew that this was even a thing!

I am no hacker, far from it, but it sounds like an interesting experience nontheless.

Will you post about it afterwards?

Hoping to post about it before, during, and after! So you can count on it.

In that case, you can count on me being here when you do. I am looking forward to it. That should become one of the more fascinating reads I won't understand much about I have ever had around here.

dont bring your phone....lol

That might be even better advice than bringing an old Nokia!

That might be even
Better advice than bringing
An old Nokia!

                 - matt-a


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Have a great time. We are moving, but it sounds great! Maybe next year.

Take some pictures and post 'em. :)

You all are moving!? Where are you headed? And yeah for sure, it shall be documented haha.

I've always wanted to go. I was hoping I can make it but now that I am looking at my schedule, its going to be pretty difficult.

Ahh! Hopefully you get to go, man! Keep me posted! We'll be at the Linq. We're flying out on the 9th, flying back on the 12th.

Learning about hacking and computer analogy has always been a passion of mine. As much as I want to I won't be able to make it this time.
Hope that next time we will be travelling together.

I've watched many of the previous events on Youtube, I'm sure you'll have a lot of fun.. but yeah, don't accept any USB keys as 'gifts'! ;)

That's rule #1 haha. I have a few flash drives in my possession that I won't plug into anything. Maybe one day when I load out an old junker I'll pop them in to see if I'm just paranoid or if they're legit.

hehe.. I'm not sure I would even use the wifi there.. definitely have bluetooth and discovery disabled..
and remove any pacemakers you may have fitted.. oh.. can't do that I guess ;)

Oh, I know the ropes very well haha. This is the fun part, the preparation. The defense. Can't waaaait! Might try to plop out a honeypot or two.

sweet dude ! Please pleaseee blog it for me !! Next year maybe ill drop by , but i don't think ill make it this year !

Oh, you can count on it. Glad to see you're still around these parts, @rouketas! As for next year, plan now!

thanks buddy ! these kind of "parts" is the cherry on the pie !! will do !! :D

Cool stuff brother Matt! I'm glad you can find your dreams and enjoy Defcon!

@matt-a It was DefCon or Anarchapulco this year. Have you heard of that event, you may really enjoy it.

Psy’m happy I’ve found your page, very insightful technicalities.

Awww man, just figured it would fall right across my anniversary...

Maybe this is the universe offering me an opportunity though. Maybe I can attempt the ultimate hack...of my wife!

Note: the hack you are about to see is being attempted by a professional dumbass--do not attempt this in your home.