Thought of the Day: March 13, 2018 - Prepare Then Take Action

in #life6 years ago

20140724_081447.jpg

Do you prepare then take action or do you take action and worry about the consequences later? Does it really matter which one you do, if in the end you will accomplish your goal anyway?

There are two schools of thought on this. Both methods can work but I believe they depend on the person executing the task.

I believe it is better to prepare then taking action on what needs to be completed. This helps me accomplish what I have set out to do. I make a list. Break it down into small steps that need to be taken. I then start completing each step one by one making sure I understand what it will take to be successful and reach my outcome.

But the problems with this is sometimes it can cause procrastination. It is possible to over prepare and not take any action. This has happen to me also. I prepare so much and do so much research that there is still to much to know, so I don't start.

When this happens, it causes you and I to not act on time. We continue to search for the right time do something and that time never comes.

Sometimes it is better to just do the thing you know you need to do without preparing. For the most part I believe our brains have an idea of how to accomplish the task. Your brains will adjust and modify as you take action and it begins to see the results you are hoping for.

Which one of these two methods do you do prefer?

Each day I try to prepare less and then take action more. The reason is because I do not want to get caught up in the, “I’ll do it when it’s perfect” syndrome.

Just taking the action will cause us to find ways to accomplish the task we want to. If it is important to you, you will have to schedule or make time for it.