5 black tees 2 pants & 1 long jeans later

in #life7 years ago

If you known me 3 years ago, during my KICKSTART.MY days, I would wear my Tees that I design on my own.

Quirky stuff like below:

Radical? Controversial? Rude?

Well, one thing for sure, it helped a lot in getting attention from others, eliciting a smile or laugh, and usually starting a conversation.

Disclaimer, and a true story: For the “Life’s a d!ck. If it doesn’t work, ask for a helping hand”, I saw a girl friend looking at it and smiled. But she almost choked when I asked if she wants to give me a hand job. Luckily we are good friends. 😃

Anyway, that posed a problem, because everyday before I head out, I need to choose which “message” to wear.

Plus, I read somewhere that successful business icons - Mark Zuckerberg, Steve Jobs, heck even Simon Cowell - seem to wear the same thing every darn day.

Image source

So I figured why not donate all my tees (although I haven’t seen anyone wearing my designs though), cut down my wardrobe by over 80%, and keep only:

  1. 5 plain black tees - I picked Uniqlo’s Cotton Tees (RM19.90) and then later upgraded to Suprima Cotton Tees (RM39.90, RM29.90 during sales, usually twice a year). I wear them everywhere, even to bed. 😃

    Image source
  2. 2 knee-length shorts - Interestingly, also from Uniqlo.

    Image source
  3. 1 long jeans - Dark blue denim, sadly, also from Uniqlo.

    Image source
  4. X number of boxer briefs - TMI, tragically, also from Uniqlo.

On the side, I have:

  1. 1 blazer - in case I need to suit up beyond the tee and jeans combo, although even for one of the highlights of 2017, speaking on a TEDx platform, i just went with tee, shorts and socks
  2. 1 work shirt - in case I need to meet MNC clients (bankers!)
  3. 2 gym shorts - coz sadly, my knee-length shorts are not practical. These gym shorts also double as my travel shorts
  4. 1 hoodie jacket - usually used when travelling, or when I’m working at co-working spaces that try to put me into a cryostasis state
  5. 1 swimming trunks - definitely not for diving
  6. 1 walking shoes - Sketchers are so comfy
  7. 1 travel shoes - Keen is the all rounder here - hiking, walking, running, trekking, and can just throw into the washing machine too. Durable as sh!t.
  8. 1 flip-flop - mainly for emergencies
  9. 2 gym/sport shoes
  10. A couple of pairs of socks (sport socks are crucial for better grip)

Interestingly someone asked if my girlfriend, Debbie, minded that I wore the same thing every day. Frankly, she couldn’t care less. Although we both felt the question was odd because by no means am I a Ken doll.

So how is it like living a year of “uniform” cloths?

Totally loving it. For once I spent a lot lesser of cloths. I only buy replacement tees twice a year. Shorts and pants last really long, but I do make it a point to change them once a year. The best part about having my entire wardrobe from Uniqlo? They can be found almost anywhere in the world!

It also made me conscious of my buying behaviour. I own a lot lesser, other than a few third-party Transformers figures for me to fidget around, I hardly have any material items around the house. All my belongings can be packed in one 27 litre backpack, and a 20 litre laptop bag, totalling around 10kg. Am trying to shave off another 3kg so I can comply to AirAsia’ carry on, but that’s quite pushing it.

Here’s a thought: why not try cutting down your wardrobe this weekend? It doesn’t have to be as drastic as my 80%. 50% will do the trick. You’d probably realise you only wear 50% (or less) of the cloths you have anyway.

I can’t promise much, but one thing's for sure, you will feel a weird sense of peace, of letting go, of lightness maybe. And by then, maybe you want to donate out the other 30%.


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD1, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

Though I haven't been able to reach your level of minimalism yet. I still managed to reduce about 70% of my clothing so far and also have a couple of uniqlo t shirts as well. Agree with you on feeling the lightness of being.

Hey, 70% is good accomplishment. Then again, if you start off with a truck load, 30% could still mean a lot, haha.

This post is... not suitable for young ladies... like me...
(drags to amp Up the Tension)

But yes I agree that it saves time and money! Perhaps I could add this as my "Self challenge" list (laughs).

Girls will always be girls, well guys can be pure white / black but girls shall always be colourful. Only in the animal kingdom that the male is more colourful than the female. Minimalism for girls? hm... that is a real challenge. Guys, want to see simple girls? hm... yes but we want simple in the inside. Outside, keep it trendy.

The truth is guys forget the pretty girls they see faster than you think. Research showed before that under a minute, the memory is gone. But girls they interact with (beyond seeing), those they tend to remember better.

No wonder @chrislo2004 remembers me and purposely comment onto my reply HAHHAHA.

It is a challenge to us. We can't go out with the same similar shirt everyday. We feel bad for ourselves. But since everything is about saving time and look good, preplanning helps to be fabulous 💕

Haha. Well, some people like variety in their lives. Others are OK to live without. :)

I guess I just need to find my variety in other areas :)

Minimalism rules! I totally agree with the suggestion on trimming down on wardrobe as the truth is, we really don't need THAT many clothes to begin with. Living with a lot less also enables us to be more mobile

I guess the concept we dreaded when we're young - wearing 'unfashionable' school uniforms - was the right thing to do after all. :)

New to steemit. And I think this looks like a good platform to explore. Thanks Mav

Welcome to the family, @legrandkei! Yes, do explore Steemit because for once, your time creating and curator can actually make you real money!

Hm... I do become a minimalist, well at least while I go for backpacking trips once in a blue moon. - 1 bag pack, no extra luggages !

Well, now you can "backpack" through your life. :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @maverickfoo to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Lol @maverickfoo, we are actually the same.. Uniqlo users from top to inside. I'm a big fan of Marie Kondo, but I have yet to streamline my wardrobe and house.. we shall see