What was life without Steemit

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So I was on vacation for a couple of days in Cebu and I try my best to unwind and disconnect from work, from social media and just enjoy the moment.

sorry-no-internet-today-1.jpg

Source

That week coincided though with what I was waiting for the sndbox challenge. So I was torn between being able to submit the 4 needed posts or going on vacation. Getting a stare down from someone made me know what the obvious answer was!

Kidnapped!

20180308_115019.jpg

In a way, I was technically kidnapped because I did not know my itinerary. This was not always the case because I used to enjoy traveling. I traveled a lot during and after college. I went outside the country and visited local places with friends and love ones but suddenly the wanderlust was just gone.

I rue waiting in airports, being stuck in traffic or jumping on a boat. Yet my trip to Cebu all had that.

I knew I was going to Cebu. I knew that we were going to the beach but aside from that, I did not know anything else. Just bring money, myself and some clothes they said and they'll handle the rest.

I was picked up from the house, dropped off the airport, handed my ticket, boarded the plane, landed in Cebu after an hour or so flight and then had van transfers from the airport to the port area. From the port we rode a ferry and was another one hour and 30 minutes and then finally another van transfer to the resort. The entire trip took about eight hours of travel.

I was told that the place did not have internet and limited power supply so even with a powerbank I was conserving battery power and did not switch on the Internet the entire trip. That has got to be the longest time I was not online in recent memory.

The Temptation was strong



image.png

Source

To my surprise, the place had ample power and even had wifi reaching the beach itself. So the pull of going online was strong and I admit being weak a couple of times and checked stuff.

I posted a couple of very short posts just to show how beautiful the place was but otherwise I handled it well and instead spent time with the people that I was with.

image.png

Source

So there I was enjoying my vacation and not driven to check every hour if there was a GINABOT notification on my favorite authors posting new articles.

No need for me to check the various communities I am if things are all right because we have very capable people running it.

I did not have the need to reply to all comments my post had. These things can wait. I was living in the moment. I was in paradise and it would be a shame if I was not going to enjoy it.

So I soaked up the sun, rubbed sand all over my body and swam in the crystal blue waters. I watched sunrises and did morning yoga amidst the dogs and other early risers. I had mango shakes while I lazed around the beach and had a pretty chill time.

I took pictures and videos, ate a lot of food and enjoyed the smiles of both locals and foreigners. Mostly I made memories that I would cherish.

20180308_145052.jpg


So was it hard not checking in to Steemit? The first day yes it was but after a while and just watching the waves and feeling the sand beneath my feet it felt okay.

There was life before Steemit and although I am very thankful for the opportunities and communities that I have been a part of sometimes it is good to take a step back and recharge your energies.

Take your me-time and enjoy it. Steem will always be here. It is not the end of the world when you disconnect from it for awhile.

*All images not sourced are mine taken using a Samsung S7 Phone.

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers

Centurion Mave.png

Click here for your Mannabase Income

Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  

Looks like you had a great time!
Sometimes you have to disconnect yourself in order to connect in a deeper level. Now you have full of energy.

Thank you @maverickinvictus for sharing this! :)

Indeed! We need some me-time to recharge and go back stronger and more inspired to write.

The vast reach technology and social media has on our lives makes it difficult to see the possible benefits of disconnecting. However there is much to be gained. Such as finding space and time to focus on your self and making deeper connections with others. 😊 It was a good experience for you @maverickinvictus 😊

Yeah we are so glued to our devices that even we are friends we often forget our place and chat with people who are far away.

Disconnecting from time to time is good for us.

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 14 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Oh wow thanks so much Ethan for the feature! This is what I love about Steem Engine and what you do in Engagement and in helping bring to focus content to others.

I am very happy that you did this.

LOL I can relate to your story @maverickinvictus.

So there I was enjoying my vacation and not driven to check every hour if there was a GINABOT notification on my favorite authors posting new articles.

I have notification's from GINAbot too and it's tough to switch. Guess it takes nature to do its wonders and snatch technology (the Internet) from us. Mother Earth is saving us- one way or the other ;p

I know I check Ginabot everytime I have free moments!

I want to see if my fave authors has posted or I have a mention somewhere.

So there I was enjoying my vacation and not driven to check every hour if there was a GINABOT notification on my favorite authors posting new articles.

This must have felt weird!!! I have grown such a bad habit of checking Ginabot that even when my eyes open from sleep in the middle of the night, I check ginabot before drifting back to sleep again

I have grown so reliant on Ginabot and don't know how I functioned without her before!

Total disconnect. I'm glad you had a great time Mave. ^^

It was such a great and relaxing time :) you should go on one of your travels!

Oh thank goodness. Don't let steemit ruin a perfectly good vacation :P. Unless you somehow have lots of down time. Then it can be still be fun. You know, a blog driven vacation.

We went to so many beaches and the boat rides were awesome. I am guilty of already thinking of my outline while in vacation though hahaha.

you're right@maverickinvictus , there are times we need to recharge our energy . Enjoy your vacation and keep safe :) God bless!!!

Thanks Regine it was what I needed and I am back and inspired to write more.

Wow.. Very beautiful.. It paid up all the efforts and travel.... 😊😊Thank you for sharing sir..

Thanks Jhen and wait for my massive post after I settle back in :)

Welcome to our place sir.. hope you enjoy your vacation here, there we're many beautiful beaches to consider.. Enjoy, enjoy sir..

Oh definitely I had so much fun and I just love the smiles of everyone and the beaches were just awesome!

Good to hear that sir.. for sure it was indeed a vacation to cherish.. balik balik sir ( come again sir)

Glad that you were still able to somehow fight the urge to check on your notifications each time. I bet you would really not enjoy your trip here in Cebu. Gosh! we should have met. :) those places are very lovely

Yeah I was thinking of meeting a few Steemians in Cebu especially when I spent a day in Cebu city! It was so much fun and I love the food!

You didn't know the itinerary but I think you enjoy your vacation.

Indeed I so enjoyed my vacation! The sun, the beach, the water, the pretty ladies!!!

Hi Mav! Sounds like you had a great vacation. I can relate to that urge! It’s interesting how connected, dare I say addicte, to our devices and the communities they connect us to! I had to google where Cebu is. 🙈 Thank you for sharing pics!

It was! 5 days of just relaxing and going to different beaches all around the island. Drinking cold mango shakes and getting some sun.

It was tempting to go online but I wanted to enjoy the moment.

I will be writing a huge travel post and share the wonderful adventure :)

Sounds perfect, looking forward to hearing more! 🌴