Summer (read: sunbathing) has been keeping me busy! + some "baby"-news

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Okay, I exaggerated a bit… The main reason for my absence in here for the last weeks is the new job I got and my masters thesis that have kept me busy AF (just finished workday 12/12 yesterday, phew! Now I'm having two days off). Sunbathing is the second reason , since we've finally got the most amazing summer weathers here in Finland after, roughly said, two years. Last summer wasn't something we can count as summer -the temperatures barely went over 20; we had ZERO heat days (=over 25 degrees Celsius) and only saw the sun like once or twice. So this is why we are now staying outside, enjoying the heat and the sun as much as we can and the screen time is minimal. And on top of that, I am convinced that my better half suffers from "tanorexia" (obsession for sunbathing) due which we're spending most of our spare time catching rays. Even the napping happens outside on our rooftop (*rolling eyes)...

Day trip to my mother in law

Last weekend (or maybe it was monday, can't remember) we went to my partners mothers place for some sunbathing and barbecue and meanwhile we waited for the stepdad to arrive from work, decided to dig the canoe out and go paddling. The canoe they have is built for one person, but since we are quite small and very stubborn, we tried to fit in it together. Our attempt was really bad since the canoe was very shaky, so it rolled over upside down and forced us to dive with it. That must have looked funny and actually was funny, after we had recovered from the daze it caused. Sadly there's no pictures of this since we were both diving under the surface… After this incident we gave up the idea of paddling together and took turns riding safely solo. 

That's me paddling. I didn't go too far, so that I could see the house all the time, since I had paddled only once or twice before that and didn't want to get lost since I have really bad sight and the lake isn't too familiar to me. I'm also afraid of the water (seas, oceans, lakes etc., not tap water xD) and everything that lives in there. I sure have the excuses. Lol.

She, on the contrary, is a real madcap and always tries everything, so this obviously wasn't scary at all in her opinion. Luckily she captured some really cool pictures of the fascinating sights for me and you (fun fact: my steemitname "meandyou"s "you" actually refers to you; other steemians, as well as to my better half) to see, since I didn't have the balls to go check them myself. She told me she paddled under that bridge for three times since it was such an exiting place, haha. Check the pics below to see the light reflections, they were magical!

Little toes ready! She's also very well-tanned, as you can see. This is the end result of the "tanorexia"...


There she goes.





Isn't the light amazing in these?!?!! I regret not checking that place in real life.


Aaaand there she comes from her 45 minute-long paddling trip.

Exercise + nature= perfect occupation! 

I found paddling very relaxing -loved the surroundings and the activity itself. There aren't many things that are more calming than exercising and listening to the natures sounds: rippling water and soughing of the wind. Those voices are definitely ASMR (Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response) to me and speaking of which, I have actually recorded some voices as well, to help relaxing when I'm feeling anxious. Maybe I'll share them sometimes, so you can listen to Finnish nature and see if you find those voices calming. Has any of you listened to ASMR videos/recordings and do you find them relaxing?

Anyways, back to the point -while paddling is relaxing, it is also great exercise and especially good for the back. There aren't many daily chores in which you move your arms up and down and around like that, so the small muscles in our backs and shoulders are often slightly neglected. I recommend everyone who owns a canoe, or has the chance to rent one try it and add it in your regular outdoor activity repertoire.

We are having "a baby"!

Time spent with the loved ones is worth everything to me and the clock always ticks too fast when your having fun. That day wasn't an exception. The evening was getting darker sooner than we had expected so we had to head back home. Along with the fresh memory of the wonderful day we had just spent, there was one more thing that warmed our hearts in the verge of the night… We finally bought our first camera together, wihii! This is probably almost as exiting for us as getting a pet or a baby as the new member of the family for most of the couples, lol. Well maybe not, but super duper exiting anyway. Canon EOS 77D will be our baby, of which we'll take as good care as we can. There's a bunch of new things to learn and we can't wait to get it in our hands to explore the features and all (only seven days left and we'll get it!). I have zero doubts it wouldn't be a great travel companion (although it's quite big), and we will get to see that as soon as we head to our trip to Italy and through Asia next fall. Can't wait!


Have and amazing, fun and sunny Saturday folks!

XOXO,


Sort:  

Congratulations @meandyou! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!