Making the best of a bad situation...

in #life4 years ago (edited)

lake1.jpg

Yesterday morning (Rain Rain go away) I mention how the rain and thunderstorms put the kibosh on our camping trip. My son was sad but understanding. I was a tad more down in the dumps about losing the chance to take my son to the lake my father always took me. (not to mention the non-refundable cost of the campsites) Eventually, the rain and winds moved on but not until after the damage had been done.

The following day turned out to be beautiful and bright and somewhat dry. we decided that if our camping trip was out then we could at least drive up to the lakes for the day and make the most of the day.

playground.jpg

I have not been to this part of the lake in well over a decade. There have been many changes and improvements over the years including large and spacious bathrooms (as opposed to the hole in the floor type of my youth) large and clean camping sites, clean and seemingly safe playground equipment. clean fish cleaning houses (not that I would eat fish) well managed landscaping, very little in the way of trash on the ground. and a sizable swimming area.

lake2.jpg

Even though I had canceled out reservations out campsite was still open and unattended. I decided to park the truck there even though we officially did not have rights to the site. (even though we did pay for it earlier, damn non-refundable fees)

parkignspot.jpg

the result was a large, private expensive parking spot to hold the truck for the few hours we were there. but no matter. My son had a great time playing on the playground as well and casting his fishing rod out a few times.

In the end, we decided to roll the dice again and reserve a camping space again in a few weeks. it was a beautiful site after all.

And this time the trip is on be it hail, tornado, flying sharks....

but please rain... keep away this time huh?

~meditations~