Rejected

in #life7 years ago

I recently purchased a couple of DVD'S online, from a fairly well known retail chain here in Australia. I must admit, I was disappointed that I was charged delivery for each item even though it was purchased all in one transaction. However, I went ahead with the purchase.

I received my DVD's in working order, two days apart.

A few days later I got an email from this company asking for me to leave a review.

From my many years experience in retail, I am well aware that customers are more likely to leave negative feedback than positive. For this reason, if I do a review, I generally keep it positive.

"Give credit where credit is due"

So, given the opportunity, I decided to do the review. At the time I thought it was humorous that this company had given 'guidelines' for a good review, basically saying that if you have a complaint, forward it to the appropriate department rather than leaving negative reviews.

I get it, no company wants to be badmouthed for a completely innocent mistake, or for a problem that can quite easily be rectified. I also understand that the retail world usually lives by 'the customer's always right' rule, even though, more often than not, the customer is very wrong. But really? Guidelines? Lol!

Anyway, I went ahead and left my review. It went like this:
image
As you can see, there is a 'negative spin' on my comment, but I thought it was pretty fair and honest...besides it wasn't all bad! I gave 3 out of 5 stars.

Personally, I don't really care what they take from my review, and it probably won't stop me shopping with them in the future. I will be aware of the postage, but for the most part, their prices are worth it anyway.

Here is where it gets even funnier!

I honestly didn't even think about the review again, I mean, nothing that this company did really effected my life, I got my stuff, I left a review, end of story.

Until, over this past weekend, I received another email from them in reply to my feedback, entitled 'your review has been rejected':

image

I don't know about you, but I find this to be hilarious! Once again, I understand if a company doesn't wish to publish negative feedback on their own website...they want to make sales, not drive people away. But there are those 'guidelines' again!

I guess I find it so funny because I'm not one to trust any company/cooperation or their own published reviews. This experience just reiterates exactly why. And the wording!

Your review has been rejected

Rejected? I like honesty and transparency. That's not the impression I get here!

Oh well. Life goes on.

Have you had a review rejected? Or perhaps left feedback that's been deleted?