Who's got your DNA?

in #life7 years ago

image

Myself, like many others around the world, are hooked on researching family history. It's always been a bit of a sore spot for me, never really knowing anything about my family heritage, or where my ancestors came from.

For over 10 years now I have been a member of Ancestry.com, gaining hints and connections, searching through various documents to finally find the truth. Recently I had a break through, and found my great grandfather's real name and birth certificate. While this was fantastic, it's left me with more questions than answers, and one giant 'brick wall', so to speak.

You see, it turns out, my great grandfather was fostered out as a child, I assume from birth. Usually something like this would leave a giant paper trail, and with a bit of hard work, questions usually get answered...however, he was born before adoption was a 'thing' and before anyone thought it was important to keep records.

Due to the ages of any known living relatives, I feel my tine us running out and I am getting desperate!

** What's this got to do with DNA?**


Each and every time I log into my account, I am presented with advertising for the Ancestry.com DNA kit. I have ignored it for so long not seeing the point, but now, out of desperation, I've been seriously considering purchasing a kit. But, I had to wonder about the terms and conditions of the tests and what exactly it all involved. Mainly, what happens to my DNA?

I found the terms and conditions on the website and had a read, but anyone who had read terms and conditions before should know how difficult they can be to understand. I wasn't 100% sure what I was reading, but I was definitely uncomfortable with what I saw. So I googled for some clearer information and came across this article. It seems I had every right to feel uncomfortable!

https://thinkprogress.org/ancestry-com-takes-dna-ownership-rights-from-customers-and-their-relatives-dbafeed02b9e/?gi=beb37f714ebe

I am pretty gobsmacked at this whole thing, to be honest, and I wonder how many people read and *understand * the terms and conditions of these tests. Or those who are so desperate to know, don't consider any future consequences.

I am involved in a few genealogy and ancestry groups on Facebook, and am aware of how many people do these tests, not only for themselves, but many members of their families. I wonder if these family members are made aware, or even question what is happening with their DNA.

If one does understand exactly what this means, why on earth would you agree? I think it's one thing to agree for yourself, but seeing that your DNA sample can be used against your relatives in the future, is a whole other kettle of fish.

Am I thinking too much into this?

What are your thoughts on the Ancestry.com DNA kits? Would you do it after reading this?

Upvote, resteem and comment below with your thoughts.

Xx

Sort:  

I am a research scientist. The data base of DNA is not for honorable purposes.