My biggest crochet project ever. All worth it for the spin!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello again steemians! <3 As I mentioned in my first post, I started a crochet business out of my travel trailer. Now I'm my own boss doing what I love! I still have a long way to go in terms of achieving all my goals- but it has been an incredible, humbling, and liberating ride. :)

I wanted to share one of the designs that I am most proud of with y'all. This dress ate up about 1400 yards of yarn and 70 hours of time. It is like wearing a giant cozy blanket!

1.png

Inspired by a lotus flower and definitely worth all the hand cramping! Twirling in this dress is pure bliss. Here I am demonstrating its magicalness in my favorite meadow! <3

lotusspingif.gif

I hope you all get to experience a spin this satisfying! It makes me feel like a kid again. :) What brings out your inner child?
<3

Sort:  

For me, watching seeds sprout makes me feel like a kid!

<3 Love it!

It's gorgeous! I love your creations!

Thanks beauty! <3

Amazing photos .... and gif..... upVOTED

Thank you :) xx

So impressive! I taught myself to crochet about a year and a half ago (thank you, YouTube! Haha) and I'm loving it. I just can't get over how cool it is to twist yarn around and pop out something like this! (Except I have yet to put together anything quite so gorgeous.)

Aww! Thank you so much! xx It is a lot like magic! <3

Great cotton dress!

Thank you! <3

thanks for upvoting my Japan post- i follow you now -David

Thanks David! I follow you as well :)

nice connection

I am sincerely impressed! I crocheted as kid in 4-H, but this takes the craft to a new level! What a gorgeous swirl on that dress! Nice work :)

This design is beautiful! What kind of yarn did you use? Stunning :)

Thank you! I used some acrylic yarn for this one because my neighbor had a TON in her basement. My favorite yarn is cotton though :) Knit Picks is my fave <3

Wow! I did not expect you to have used acrylic! The sheen and drape look like something else :) i also love cotton. Got a batch of aran weight cotton last year and it knit up so nicely. Makes any pattern look super professional :) look forward to seeing more of your work, thats some talent you have!

Thanks so much! <3 That means a lot :) xx

LOVE this dress! Playing in the ocean and getting knocked over by waves makes me feel like a kid!

Love it! Me too! :)

That is another stunning dress!
When your a kid you always want to get that height and fullness of what you have with that dress, it never happened, who would of thought you would get that with crochet

That spin animation is so satisfying to watch!

lol, thanks! :)

OMG! It's beautiful!!
Hats off to the hard work behind this @mermaidcat... This reminded me of a door rug I made out of old t-shirts.. that was not crochet but ate up a hell lot of my time.. That experience will always make me appreciate projects like this !
I particularly love that low cut back!!!

Thank you Varna! xx I'd love to see your rug :)

WoW! This is gorgeous!!!! Great job. Going to check out your first post! ;)

Thanks so much! xx

It's beautiful! I love crocheting. :D

Thank you! xx It's pretty addicting ;)

Don't have to tell me that! I've been crocheting for twenty years. :D

lol! Wow, that's so awesome! Hope to see some of your creations on here! xx

I plan on posting stuff up in the near future. Having problems with photographing them.

Well good luck! Looking forward to it :)

Nice slow mo spin! Art brings out my inner child!

Thank you and wow-your art is so magical! :)

This post received a 2.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @foodisfree! For more information, click here!

That. Is. Friggin. Impressive!!!!!!!!!!

lol! Thanks! You just gave me a big smile! xx

Beautiful!
That spin though..=P
very nice

Thank you! A good spin :)

This is just awesome, I am so happy I decided to come here and see for myself.
You are living the dream girl, no boss, doing what you love and surrpunded by nature. Got yourself a follow back :)

Thanks a bunch :) xx

twirling intensifies \o/ beautiful.

Thank you! :)

That blue truly does pop a lot!!

One of my favorite colors :)

Beautiful girls dancing in fields of course

I really like your design! great inspiration

Thanks so much! <3

The dress turned out stunning! You have amazing talent :) How long have you been crocheting? I've had all the stuff to get started for a while now, just haven't dove in yet!

Aww! Thank you! <3 You should go for it! I have been knitting for about 12 years... only crocheting for about 4ish :)

Wow! Stunning! I learned how to crochet, but don't do it regularly because it's too hand intensive for me. Your dress is amazing! Lightening, thunderstorms, and playing in the rain bring out my inner child. ^_^

Lovely choices for inner childing! I definitely need to have my hand breaks. I know what you mean! Thanks so much xx

Soy tu tio

<3

Amazing work :) and you look great too. :)

food maybe brings mine

Thanks so much! lol, food is definitely a good one! :)

Congratulations @mermaidcat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!