Day 3 with the dog.

in #life5 years ago

Doggo was great last night. Slept like a charm, all through the night. Perfectly done.

Early wakeup (~630am). I felt her move in the bed and hoped she was just adjusting herself and would settle. She was such a good dog, I'd have to let her out whenever she decides it's morning. She got up and made herself known, and stuck her nose in my face and it was morning.

Ran into a technical difficulty.

I discovered that the food the client had left me with is actually cat food!!!

It's not super obvious. The packaging mostly talks about chicken and how natural and pure of a chicken it is. But then when you look closely you see there's a little cat icon and it says it's cat food.

It's fuqqin cat food!

Was this intentional?

It seems bizarre that someone would intentionally feed cat food to a dog. But it also seems hard to accidentally bring a knife to a gun fight like that.

What gives?

I messaged the client and tried to word it as gently as possible, in case the dog is on a weird cat food diet and she's self-conscious about it. Like "YA MY DOG EATS CAT FOOD Y ELSE WOULD I BRING IT JUDGE ME SHUT UP".

Turns out it was unintentional. The client asked me to go to Walgreen's and get the dog food version of the same brand.

I found it. The last one on the shelf. The packaging is almost identical to the cat food. Same colors, also talks about the chicken. I can totally see grabbing that one by mistake.

Seems like bad form by the pet food company. Shame on you, Naturo.

I guess at big box stores like Walmart and Petco etc., there's the dog section and the cat section. So there isn't really the opportunity for this to happen. But then at Walgreen's there's just the little pet section.

It actually seems reasonable of my client to get a refund, from someone. Whether it should be more on Walgreen's or more on the manufacturer, the combination of Walgreen's selling both dog and cat version of that item on the same shelf makes it a reasonable mistake. And so consumer protection, from someone, should be in order.

I have a little bit of a harebrained temptation to take matters into my own hands.

When I bought the dog food, it was one of those times where the item doesn't scan and they punch something into the register themselves. So my receipt basically says I bought "item".

It's like the golden ticket.

I feel like I could go back with the cat food and the receipt, and pretend I bought the cat food yesterday. But that I was trying to buy dog food. And I buy this brand of dog food from you all the time, and how did cat food with the same packaging end up on the shelf?????

I demand a refund.

And then I'd be the client's hero. The knight in shining armor. Like, Jeff Bezos level of pleasing the customer.

But I probably won't.

For one, I went out of my way to say I'm not allowed to do anything deceptive.

I didn't really mean to the large corporations regarding their loose return policies, especially not if I'm Robin Hooding it for someone else. And I feel she's legitimately entitled to a refund and this just twists some details around and gets us there.

But mostly it seems too out of the way and aggressive. I believe being the GOAT dog sitter does not involve doing acrobatic things like that. That's the template I'll strive for.

I'll give client the receipt and tell her my idea.

Sort:  

Hahah cant believe i missed this! Super cool. I'm glad you didnt go through with the plan too. Like you said its well-meaning but it just seems too outlandish.

Being a GOAT sitter, you don't need to do that. Only the unsure mediocre ones go out of their way to do things like that to impress.