My new nestbox build

in #life4 years ago

Over the past few years I’ve been doing a series of posts called nestbox cam updates and it’s just started again this year.
So I’ve decided to build another one

99500F50-772D-4AC5-BF72-0310C05F3CEB.jpeg

This time I decided to push the boat out and I got some nice oak.
Am going to put a different front on this box to try and attract a different kind of bird possibly a robin.

5FE507B0-8A2C-4267-B484-475E2C125113.jpeg

I also tried covering the screw holes with some wood dowel which I think turned out well plus I had a roll of lead which I’ve covered the roof with and that looks good as well.

F1AB6C08-7BE0-4519-8E20-33D9ECF2B2D2.jpeg

0B0F3DEF-E504-4092-A832-70927E976176.jpeg

I would imagine this will help the box last a lot longer.
If I’m lucky enough to attract some birds this year I will get another camera for next season only because they are quite expensive to buy especially if it stays empty.

6552BBF7-1E09-4A7C-BA62-40A9E8518026.jpeg

And here’s a picture of the box mounted on the side of my house,hopefully it won’t be empty for long.
Thanks mike

Sort:  

Looks good.

Will last far longer than any bought bird box, and probably cheaper. I very much doubt it will be empty for long. Hope it's a different bird species than a blue tit, just for variety.

I hope it lasts for a long time. Cheers mike

Nice work, but is the opening not a bit to big? Seems too easy to get in for bigger birds, like magpies or so.

I did get the dimensions of the RSPB website. Thanks for popping in cheers mike

Cool... I must try also one day to do this and put some cameras in. 👌🤗

Give it a go you’ll like it.cheers mike

Congratulations @mikenevitt!

Your post was featured on our daily build newsletter. We've sent 250 liquid BUILD tokens from our @build-it.funds account to your wallet upon which you can sell, trade or buy on steem engine or SteemLeo.

Build-it is a central hub for DIY and How-To projects. It's an opportunity to find and share the latest in DIY, and How-To tutorials. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY article are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. Please subscribe to our community here.

Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram.

Follow @build-it.daily for more updates!

Thank you very much. Cheers mike

Thank you for using the recommended tag/s. This post has been manually rewarded with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote. You can buy, stake, and exchange our "BUILD" tokens for steem on steem engine or SteemLeo

Build-it is a central hub for DIY and How-To projects. It's an opportunity to find and share the latest in DIY, and How-To tutorials. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY article are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. Please subscribe to our community here

Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram.

Follow @build-it for more updates!

Nice one cheers. Thanks mike

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Your spam is really fucking annoying. You spam everybody, we ask you to stop, you refuse to, We downvote you, you downvote us. This is not what Jesus would do with his Steem account.