You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Between Fake Accents and Bleaching Cream - A Nigerian Girl's More Obvious Debacle

in #life7 years ago

I'm Polish so English is my second language. I moved to the UK few years ago and had a rough time first few months because of my very thick Eastern European accent. I still do speak with it but I've managed to British it up a bit ;) because I felt like I had no other choice. By now, I still sound Polish to British people but some other English speakers, especially non-native, find it a bit harder to distinguish where I'm from because of how mixed my accent is. And you know what? it sucks. It sucks the accent you speak with has such a big impact on how people perceive you.

Sort:  

Hmm. I wish society were less inquisitive into our differences, at least to an extent that makes us comfortable with the way we are. But I'm sure you won't use that "Britished" accent if you have need to borrow the queen's language in Warsaw or anywhere in Poland. That is the irony about the Nigerian kind. They have managed to make it posh back down home. And that sucks.

well, it's just my accent now whenever I speak English, it has naturally changed and evolved. But i do get your point and it obviously resemblances an insecurity issue among those Nigerian girls...