Winter is here

in #life7 years ago

board.jpg
Snowfall has finally arrived and it's starting to feel like that time of the year again. Snowboarding season is officially over and I can't wait to get back on those slopes. It's only been a few since since my first time and ever since then, I have enjoyed every second of it. That was about 3 years ago and I would go here and there so I didn't have much practice but luckily I got the hang of it pretty easily.

I remember like it was yesterday, Wasn't prepared at all, no snowboarding clothes, no waterproof clothes, and no board. I was going to rent all my gear and little did I know how expensive it was going to be. I took along with me my work clothes because it was really warm and I knew that it would help. I ended up having the buy gloves though because the weather up there was too cold at the time to not have gloves on.

My very first run, if you can call it that was not too bad. I was able to stand up and seeing as I've tried to teach a few people here and there, that's quite impressive. The first things that beginners learn is what we call heel and leafing. That for anyone that doesn't know is just going down the mountain where your board is horizontal and you are on your heels going sided to side like a falling leaf. I was able to go down only a few feet at a time and then when I started to go faster, it was too scary and I would fall. On that note, another important thing to know when you first learn is learning how to fall. You are most likely going to fall and learning to fall the right way will ease with the pain. I somewhat learned the hard way where I kept putting my hands down and drag it slowing down. My forearms were not happy with me the next day. The glory was on my fourth run when I was finally able to go down the mountain without falling. It was at a slow pace of course but that made me want to go even more.

After that day, I knew I wanted to go back again whenever I was able to but that didn't happen very often. I probably went one more time after that and then waited for the next season. Within the 3 years that I've been snowboarding, it was less than a handful but I actually got pretty good at it. I just recently learned how to carve and have been doing it for the past two times now. Bringing me back to today and this season. I'm not sure if I will be able to but here's to wishful thinking.

fall.gif
Then I can see stuff like this and no that is not me that is my beginner friend who thought he could do box jumps his first time