Money Tip: Why Filipinos don't get rich?! | Filipino Cultural Issue

in #life6 years ago

images.jpg

Today I'm going to tell you about why Filipinos don't get rich.

There's a huge issue between financial security among families in the Philippines. And hopefully in this article, I'm gonna be able to help you and your family do have financial security but i think most of the problem is the cultural problem.

The first time I notice financial cultural issue in the philippines was when i was on a conversation with this beautiful friend of mine who had an awesome job as an a programmer and she was getting paid quite well for Filipino standard. She was smart. We got to be talking about money during the talk and she said she didn't have any money and I was shocked because I knew that she had a good paying job and she was a smart girl so she told me why she didn't have any money. It was because she was paying for his sister her sister's child so most of the money that she made was going to her family that most of them didn't have jobs.

Then I started seeing this come up more and more. And almost all the family that I would meet , someone, the successful one who was making money, would be paying for the majority of the other people in the family or sometimes a couple of people who paid the rest of the family. All this doing was dragging down generation after generation keeping everybody poor.

I come from a big family of six kids. But one of the biggest blessing in my life is the fact that my parents didn't give me anything and I think one of the biggest blessing that I've given to my siblings is the fact that i've never given them anything financially. I gave my brother $200 that he paid me back start his trading business which is now paying and earning thousands of dollars and he paid me back. I would never give any of my family member any money. Now, why is that? Does that mean that I'm a cruel person? You could think so but I believe in giving people opportunities not in giving them money or things. If you give somebody something, they will not appreciate it. If you give me something I will not appreciate it. Unless you've worked for something you would never appreciate it that much.

This is a cliche but it's true. There is a saying, "if you give a man a fish, he will eat it for a day but if teach him how to fish he will eat for the rest of his life. " This also applies to family. If you give your family a fish, eat they will eat it for a day, if you don't give your family a fish they're going to go fishing themselves and they're going to learn how to fish or give your family a fishing rod and tell them where the lake is.

So let's make that clear. Don't give money to your siblings. If you want to help somebody, give them opportunity. Now i know what you're going to say. I'm giving money to my parents or my grandparents. They are old already so I need to give them money. Well no you don't. If you are in a position of financial security, what I mean is you got already what you need, you are making money just of interest, your above and beyond your means and you are financially stable, you're not paying paycheck to paycheck, okay then help your parents or your grandparents. But if you're living basically of what you earn, you have a little bit of savings, then by giving money to your grandparents or your parents, you actually just hurting your future generations. You are not uplifting the family. You're not taking the family to another level financially and you're just keeping everyone down so you're actually hurting everybody by helping them. I know it seem the right thing to do by giving money to your parents but if your parents and your grandparents really have your best interested heart then they're going to want you to be successful and want your kids to be successful. You know what? They're already old, I mean they've already made their own decisions in their life so at this point you gotta make your own decision. You got to make your decision that's going to affect your grandparents and your kids. On the other hand, if you don't just give this money away to people and instead you're a good steward on the money that you earn, you invest it well , you start businesses, start companies, buy real estates, you have investments, you will be able to help so many people and that's the thing you're going to think of not helping somebody today by putting yourself in a position where you can help them in huge ways and in bigger ways tomorrow and in years from now.
This year I didn't give any of my friends money. If they asked for money I said no. I didn't even give my family any money. But you know what I did? I give them huge opportunity. I said this is what you need to do to go make a lot of money or here's an opportunity for you to make a lot of money. And I've made my friends probably with a million dollar this year with opportunity that I gave them.

If you want to help your friends and family , give them opportunity and that is why filipinos don't get rich because they give each other money and if you don't have an opportunity to be able to give to somebody, well then , you are not in a position to help them financially either. Good luck guys i hope this helps.