An ode to the magic of humanity

in #life6 years ago

Life changing revelations often happen when you least expect it. The same goes for this story. It was at the moment my grandma gave me my first Harry Potter book that she told me about the magic that resides in all of us. The magic that empowers us to give our world meaning.

She began her story in school, where our first real encounter with this magic is. It is in school that we begin to learn about all the different letter of the alphabet and quickly after that move on to make words with them.

In themselves these words are empty and have no meaning, but put them in the order, the right composition, and suddenly they have the power to change the world.
The words you use decide what kind of wizard you will become. The words you pick will have an impact on your surroundings, on the way people think about you.

One of the most glaring examples is the simple combination of four words to form the sentence ‘I have a dream’. These four simple words put together in the right context and pronounced in the right way in front of the right audience, changed the world.

This power is in all of us. We can all make a difference and change the world for the better if we want to. Pick the right words, use them wisely and the world will bet at your feet.
Today the power of this magic is even greater, with all the possibilities that modern society brought us to share our words. It takes just one press of a button to have the whole world as your audience. Think about that.

Publishing these words is my way of saying thank you to my grandma. Thank you for sharing your wisdom with me and everyone who was interested. I hope that by publishing this, the power of your words may live on in eternity.

Sort:  

When I was a teen, a teacher who had become something of a mentor to me turned me on to the Carlos Castaneda books. They had the same effect on me, opening my eyes to the magic of the world. Although many years later, some now say Castaneda's works were a hoax, it makes no difference to me. Those books changed my life and showed me that there are paths through life apart from the well-worn ruts the mainstream lays before us -- those books gave me the strength to go another way.

Cheers

Thanks for your sincere reply man! Having a great teacher/mentor in life is truly invaluable!