keep on keepin on

in #life6 years ago

LemonsTrayDETAIL_copy_1024x1024.jpg

When life gives you lemons.... F*ck Life! LoL.. Things don't always work out as planned, unfortunately that is life... It really sucks but at the same time it is what keeps things interesting. There is a popular saying "the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence" and I have come to learn that applies to most of life. People have this belief that changing scenery will make life better, but that couldn't be farther from the truth. I know, I tried. I was so excited to leave the things I hated that I forgot to take into consideration the new issues I would come across in my new life.

To be honest my life has been pretty messed up lately and I have no one to blame but myself. I made a plan to leave america and start a new life in a different country and it completely fell apart. It wasn't that I didn't plan good enough, it just was not the right plan. We could of made it in Costa Rica, we just hated it and didn't want to force something that didn't feel right. Sometimes you have to actually try something before you realize whether it is right or wrong. I don't regret trying it, I needed a change in life and this has definitely challenged me and reminded me about the truly important things in life. I really needed a reset to make me appreciate life. I was so wrapped up in leaving my old life behind that I forgot to think of the things that I did love about my life.

As a veteran with severe PTSD I sometimes struggle with reality. I see how the world is and it really bothers me. I have done my best to deal with this disability but sometimes it gets the best of me. I have received treatment in the form of medication and/or counseling for years but it is like everything else in life, ups and downs. Before I got my life on track I was just another statistic, a disabled veteran with a drug and alcohol problem struggling to keep my head above water. I thought I beat that, I thought my struggle was finally over because it had been years since my last big down fall but it has since hit and I have been struggling with depression and anxiety daily. I gained 20lbs in a month and stopped working out completely. I know eating and exercise is extremely important for mental health but its hard to get out of bed when you don't know when/if you will find a place to call home.

I knew I was in a bad place and that life wouldn't get better if I didn't do things to make it better, so a few weeks ago I started exercising, eating healthy and fasting regularly again. As soon as I started taking control of my life again good things started happening, funny how that works. I forgot how important it is to take care of my physical health if I wanted to take care of my mental health.

We (my fiance and our two pitbulls) have been on the road for over a month and a half now, living in hotels all across america. We have been traveling around trying to find the right place to settle down and start our new lives. We have literally traveled across america from California all the way to North Carolina to look for the perfect home just to end up back in the mid west only 6 hours from where we originally lived. We realized what we wanted was close all along, the midwest was the right place for us just not the exact location where we were. Funny how we had to travel and live in so many other places just to figure out that we already had what we wanted, it was just not in the exact spot we wanted it.

keep-on-keepin-on.jpg

There were many times we wanted to give up and just go back home but we always pushed through, that is the most important lesson in life... Whenever you fall never give up! Pick yourself up, brush yourself off and keep moving forward. If you Keep on keepin on it will always work out. As hard as the last few months have been it has really been a great life lesson and I have learned a what really matters in life and it is definitely not scenery, money or material things, it is only family and love.

P.S. Now that we have finally found a new home I have decided the time is right to come back to steemit. ;)

Peace, Love and all that hippie shit!"

The STEEM Engine


APP.png

Sort:  

Welcome back. This was such an inspiring and honest story. I love that you were so open and honest about your experience. Many people would never have written about it like you have here. You have acknowledged that you made a mistake and instead of harping on it you made it work and in the process have found what you were searching for. Well done and thank you for sharing such a personal part of yourself.

Thanks. It was really hard to swallow my pride and write an article about my failures but my steemit family has always been extremely supportive and my profile has always been about honesty. Everyone falls in life at some point or another, its the actions we take after we fall that determine the type of people we are. We can either give up and go back to our old ways or we can get up and become a new stronger person. I believe we fail so we can learn, so it is important to always get up and keep moving forward! Great comment, you have a new follower ;)

Welcome back! This is such an inspiring lesson of picking yourself up and doing for yourself what few others will do for you. I am sincerely glad you are back on steemit and look forward to getting to read your posts again!

Thanks for all the support @papacrusher. Its people like you that really made me miss steemit and decide to return :)

Glad you guys were able to find a place to settle down! I've been checking in on your blog recently to see how things are going, so I'm glad you're back! I hope that life can continue to keep looking up for you guys!

Hey thanks :) i really appreciate the support. Its nice to hear from everyone and be back on steemit.

The midwest is pretty great! This was a great post by the way. I made a big move a while ago and it's interesting what I have taken away from it. I think a lot of times we move from one thing to another thinking the other is better. Many times you get to that new situation and you realize it wasn't really better, it was just different. Different isn't always bad, sometimes you can find the most wonderful things in the different, but if you go in thinking it is better, you could be disappointed. Welcome back to Steemit and I am glad you guys have found a new home!

I do love the midwest, I guess I didn't realize it until I left it for a while. You are right about moving, I thought it would make my life better, I thought it was going to solve some of my problems but life is what it is and moving doesn't change that. I needed a change, I just thought I needed a huge change when it turned out all I needed was a small change. It may have taken traveling around most of north america to figure it out but better late than never right!? :) I appreciated the thoughtful comment, so I'm following you and looking forward to reading some of your posts.

Thanks I appreciate it. Yes for sure better late than never!

I ran away from life 2 years ago. Went by myself from SoCal to Oregon. I realized during that time that it isn't where you are, it's who you're with and how you look at life in general... I came back just recently, because I was lonely and it was more important to be with people that cared, even more so than the pretty scenery Oregon had to offer. I hope you are able to find balance in your life- balance is key- PEACE!

I too have learned that same lesson, its not where you are it is who you are with, and luckily enough I have been with my best friend throughout all of this. We realized that no matter where we go we will always run into the same types of people and the same problems, it just took 5 months of searching to realize that lol. balance is key :) you are full of great advice! You got a new follower, thanks for the great comment!

excellent news a have been thinking on ur journey. a was happy to see u on one of my post a few days back so I knew you were here.
am one my journey to. is nice to see it can work out in the end.

Hey @norwegianbikeman, thanks for leaving a comment. Things have been turning around for me but it has been a long few months. I was sad to see you were struggling when I saw your post on steemit. I know before I took a break on steemit we were both really excited about our future journeys in life and i had hoped yours turned out better than mine. I want you to know that if you just keep pushing forward that it will all work out in the end, just don't give up.... Keep on keepin on my friend! ;)

I am so glad to see this post and the good feeling I get from reading it, welcome home friend.

thanks @sultnpapper! I always appreciate your comments and enjoy chatting with you. I appologize for leaving you (and my followers) in the dark so long. Thank you for warm welcome back. :)

I gave you a shout out in today's daily dose and just after I posted it I found this post of yours in my feed bucket. It made my night last night to read your words, I rank this post above finishing second in the poker tournament, and I won some SBD for that, so that should tell you something. Now we need to figure out a way to put those cages to work.

Great post hippie

I always think it strange that american's say it's only 6 hours away like it's a drive up the road. I could drive the length of Northern Ireland in 2 hours, anything more then that, an airplane makes my sense.

Im glad that things are filling into place for you guys and your dog's. I remember reading your just sold the house post a while back now and you have done what you said you were going to do so if you are ever feeling down, at least you can be happy with the knowledge that your full of shit :)

Here in America 6 hours is just a drive up the road! LoL.. The problem with airports in a country as big as america is the airports aren't always close to where you want to go so you would have to drive a few more hours even if you flew somewhere and its just a big hassle when you have to deal with airports.

Im glad things are working out now too. Its obviously not what we were planning but life is what happens when your busy making plans right!? haha. We are excited to have a new home and a new take on life. We are not at all upset we tried chasing our dreams and it didnt work out, thats more that most people can say. We are just ready to have some where to call home again. Thanks for the comment my friend.

Glad you finally found a new home! We always tend to think the grass is greener on the other side but all the time it's just changing ourselves that makes the difference. Vital to take care of our physical well being in order for a healthy state of mind! Look forward to more awesome posts from you @ moderndayhippie :)

Wow, you are absolutely right! Now that I think about it the only thing that has changed is me and my views on life, and because of that I appreciate everything around me so much more now. I am normally a health nut but depression really kicked my butt this time and I gave in, not to worry though, I am back on the right track of being healthy once again. I am glad you enjoyed my post :) Thanks for the awesome comment!

Great to hear that.
I also went through a bad depression after my brother's suicide many moons ago and a while back wrote about how I overcame this horrid illness, this is the post if you wish to read it, but what helped me tremendously, was regular meditation.
The author @ericvancewalton has written a book on meditation but mentioned that he's planning a steemit blog on teaching meditation, worthwhile looking out for that.
Go well!

I love meditation but i havent done it since we have been on the road because i need a quiet place with no distractions and its basically impossible for me to get that right now.. However i will start again once i get in to my new home..

You can never give up, persisting through the hardships coming up in your life can be a challenge, but always works out when it needs to!

so true. it took a while but things have definitely worked out and I honestly think it will be for the better in the end too..

It's great to see you writing and being open. I always think being honest is the first step to change and moving to the right path. Keep up the good work. I'm following along :)

honesty is extremely important and I try to tell it like it is, but it has been hard to write for me lately because I felt like such a failure when my plans to move to costa rica fell apart. However, I have since learned that its not about the destination, its about the journey. ;)

True
Resteemed

Thanks for the resteem my friend!

stay strong - stay healthy - get recover fast with your wife and lets see the yoga lady again and lets see the happy funny hipppppiiiiiii

Sometimes we just need a different perspective o life to really appreciate what we have. Glad that you have found your home! Things are looking up foryou right now. Carry on!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #120 (4/30/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

oh wow, thank you so much! I really appreciate it.

I was expecting your usual motivating speech that don't give up but was pleasantly surprised with you showing a vulnerable side telling us about your PTSD.

I come from an army and police family so I know how difficult the struggle is and especually when you stop caring about yourself.

I am happy that you picked yourself up, got better and traveled and in the end saw where you really want to be.

Thank you for ur sincere comment. It is not easy for me to talk about things like that. The struggle has been real hard lately, but i finally feel like im getting back to the old me and back on top of things again.

This is a very inspiring post! Finding your way to a home that fits is never easy. I am literally in the same place right now myself, PTSD and all. I even have two dogs too. Kinda strange how close your story is to mine. I'm happy for you that you have found somewhere that you both want to be. I wish you all the happiness in the world!
Ivy

Thank you so much. Sorry to hear you are having a rough time right now, im glad my post could help inspire you. I hope you find what you are looking for soon.. :) Best wishes for your future.

Thanks! I appreciate it. Keep on keepin on!
Ivy

Congratulations on finding a new home. Sometimes it takes a lot of trial and error to find the perfect solution.
Best wishes moving forward!

absolutely, and there has been a lot of trial and error so I am happy to have finally found the perfect solution! Thanks for the support my friend.

Glad your back and you found your home. I love your attitude...not always easy to keep up but you certainly have it back on track. Quite an accomplishment! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for the kind words. I try my best to stay positive no matter what but these past few months have been rather difficult for me as my life has taken some major detours from the original plan. Now I am on a new path in life and want to show other people that change is good, even if the path to get there is difficult! Thanks for the comment, i checked out your page quick and followed you :)

This is awesome. We traveled for 3 years throughout the US, always thinking that we would find that one amazing place that was just "it" and ended up right back nearby the home we left. This was the right place for us as our kids grew up. Now we're itching to move along again.

I love that you took off to look and search for what you needed. It is a journey, all of life is a journey and I love the honesty in this post. I'm glad you found your place :)

I've been in this place as well, with the mental and physical health. I have spent this last year dealing with life changes and forcing myself back to healthy... it can really really be a BIG struggle. I really do think that it's awesome that you've been so open about it all. I find writing about these things to be so healing for me. I hope you feel the same.

Funny how traveling around can really make you realize what you really want in life. I am glad that you can relate and it helped you to heal some. This has been incredibly hard for me to write about because the whole time I've been feeling like a failure with all of steemit as my audience. Truth is I know I am not a failure, because I never gave up. I pushed forward until I found a place to call home, and getting up when you fall is not failing, its actually succeeding. I was just hoping to continue my journey of following my dreams and blogging about it to give other people hope. Turns out the universe has different plans for me othere than being a beach bum for the rest of my life. That was a huge hit on my ego and hard for me to deal with so I turned to eating food and drinking liquor to cope for while. But now that I have found a home I am working on getting back on top of my health and ready for the next chapter of my life.
Thanks for sharing your story with me, its always nice to hear other people have gone through similar things and come out on top. ;)

I totally understand, more than you can know. My husband has been going through this exact same thing since we decided to nix the sailboat life. Living on a sailboat was something he dreamed of since he was 13, something his father wanted to do but never could. We managed to do it, but it became quickly obvious that it wasn't sustainable for us for many reasons.

Even though we had the boat and had amazing adventures that never would have happened any other way, it didn't last (almost 2 years) but He took that very personally as a failure of his very being and is just now starting to come out of the haze of self flagellation (with the food, escapism and liquor as well) to the point that it really wreaked havoc on our life and our marriage.

We also grew up in the midwest (Iowa) so I really can relate to SO much of what you've done!

Yes, you are right. :) Never give up just fight fight fight! :) hehe :) And yes, welcome back to Steemit! :)

Resteemed to over 18000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program.
APPICS is a new social community based on Steem.
The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO is open now for 4 rounds in 4 weeks.
Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007 & @boostupvote

Keep it up!
All the best!

Send 0.100 SBD/steem For resteem over 4800+ followers / send 0.200 SBD/steem resteem over 11,300+ Follwers Send your link in memo ! @boostupvote Attached !

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you for your support! :)

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Congratulations @moderndayhippie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Loading...