The Circus is Dead

in #life7 years ago

I read the other day Barnum & Bailey are closing, and I cried.

I remember the three rings from my childhood. As an adult, I'm not a circus-goer; I'm very allergic to hay and anything with fur or feathers; and I don't care for clowns (thanks to Stephen King). I love the trapeze, the peanuts, and the overall idea of a circus though.

No more childhood dreams of running away to join the circus. No more of the 'Greatest Show on Earth.' An era has passed. It's just plain sad.

Here are some links to the news. They all say basically the same thing: no more elephants, not enough income.

http://www.cnn.com/2017/01/14/entertainment/ringling-circus-closing/index.html
http://www.usmagazine.com/celebrity-news/news/ringling-bros-circus-to-close-after-146-years-w461174
http://www.cbsnews.com/videos/ringling-bros-and-barnum-bailey-circus-closing/
http://www.weau.com/content/news/Barnum--Bailey-Circus-will-close-in-May-410765685.html

I'm sort of in shock about this - the passing of such an era in my lifetime, what it means for those who rely on the circus - the destruction of their way of life; but mostly, another cold realization of how the march of time is relentless and merciless.

Although I'm happy for the animals, I simply cannot write more. I'm too sad and disconcerted about this. Just thought I'd share.

Sort:  

@moondancer762
Because you're an active trader at TradeQwik we are rewarding you by upvoting your most recent post at 100%
Thank you for being a valued customer!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.03 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

the market has spoken

I know (sniff, sniff). I'm sure it was inevitable.

The Circus is still here, It's just called Mainstream Media now. ;)

LOL! You have a point! I see the rings, now...so many...