Dinner on the Lake with Family and Friends

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Last week my uncle and his family where down visiting from Ohio! My uncle being a Florida native, my mom thought he would enjoy eating dinner at The Whip located on Lake Talquin in Quincy, Florida. My mom loves to plan family gatherings there sometimes because it is an easy place for everyone to meet! A lot of my family lives in Blountstown, Florida, which is an hour from Tallahassee, so meeting at The Whip is right in the middle for everyone!

The Whip is a little restaurant located on the water and is an easy access for boats to pull up and have a quick bite to eat. Mainly frequented by locals, the menu is limited and the food is delicious!

Traveling there was a fun ride! It's only a 30 minute drive from Tallahassee so it is no big deal. We had to take two cars because we had 11 people, but we had more that were meeting us at the restaurant. My boyfriend, @sevinwilson, was driving my car filled occupied by my brother, cousin, and myself. We had a such a fun ride over that he got lost because he wasn't paying attention! Thankfully we finally made it!

Getting seated was crazy! We had 20 people in our party so we had to sit at two separate tables that were located across the room from each other. That was a little frustrating, but ended up not being so bad!

Once we were seated everything was good. Everyone ordered some kid of craft beer and I ordered a glass of red wine. When the waiter was coming around to give us our waters he dropped the whole tray on my boyfriend and soaked his shorts! The poor waiter was so embarrassed, but we all thought it was hilarious! We brushed it off and kept the night going!

Finally we got around to ordering our food. I ordered this Mexican salad and it was delicious! My boyfriend, along with my mom and aunt, ordered the black bean quesadillas which were delicious also! I don't think you can go wrong with anything on their menu, its all super tasty!

After we all ate we just hung out and talked with the family. It was nice to all get together and see my uncle since he only comes down to visit once a year. I have a huge family and we are all super close so its tough for him to live so far away! He really misses it down here in Florida! Humidity and all!!

Around 9:00 or so we all started heading back home and we were back by 9:30. We enjoyed yet another fun evening at The Whip! Great food and great company! I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that is visiting the area!

Sort:  

cool post

Thank you!

Congratulations @morganannwood! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!