Already??

in #life7 years ago

christmas ug.JPG
Here we go!!!
I was walking through a couple of stores earlier this week and I could not believe my eyes. It is early October, the first week, and Christmas displays are already up.

20171007_090151.jpg

This is one of the big gripes I have against capitalism. We live under a constant barrage of advertising. I feel less and less like a citizen or member of my community and more like a piece of the industrial consumer machine. Signage, billboards, and the constant beat of buy, buy, buy.

The saddest part is we have been so brainwashed by our culture that we think in order to be good parents, spouses, or friends we must take part in this consumerism orgy. I cringe each time I see a young family trying to live up to this ridiculous myth. They put themselves in debt trying to be "good parents" by giving lots of gifts and then feel like failures if they cannot.

As the holiday season comes barreling down the road at us, stop, take a breath, and do not let the tide of consumerism sweep you away. Give the best gift you can. Yourself, your time, and your support are what is most important to those who love you.
Take care and keep it in perspective.

20171007_084054.jpg

Sort:  

oh my goodness, yes so very true!! the whole consumer culture is ridiculous and shown so obviously when it comes to the holidays and less overtly but still manipulatively in so many other ways that prey on our classist culture!