You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being a Soldier - An Inside Look

in #life7 years ago

You're welcome @jadoob!
I'm actually on a 24 hour detail right now called CQ, or charge of quarters. I have to sit behind a desk for 24 hours without going to sleep. The purpose is to always have someone on duty if anything were to ever happen when leadership isn't around. But to answer your question, we would mostly hold something almost like a classroom setting and learn about different things that can benefit us in combat like medical training, learning how to drive different military vehicles, etc. There is always a class being held so we can learn all sides of our job. Being a combat MOS (Military Occupational Specialty, or in other terms - what my specific job as a soldier is) it's really important to know self aid and buddy aid in case we can't get to a medic or they can't get to us. Some other things we learn in these classroom environments are about tactics and the best way to handle a combat situation. We have 8 "battle drills" that we live by and are our bread and butter, almost like a play book. We get them drilled into our heads over and over again. I've had a class on entering and clearing a room more times in my military career more times than I can count! I hope I answered your question. I know I kind of rambled, but if you have any more I'd be happy to answer! Thanks for your support!

Sort:  

Thanks for your answers, very interesting! I've often wondered what the day to day life of someone in the military is like :)