Earthship Biotecture & Self-sufficient Housing: My Journey of Discovery Part II (ecoTrain)

in #life7 years ago

Earthship_Zwolle.jpg

A sense of joy comes to me with bringing to you part 2 of my journey of discovery, self-sufficiency and Earthships. In part 1, I shared the inspiration and people that led me to travel to India and to my first Earthship construction site. In this post I will be sharing that experience and what came in the year after the Earthship experience.

20578_274683966597_5750668_n.jpg
Travelling India was an eye opening experience. I felt fully in the moment and found a profound sense of gratitude for being alive.
I learnt to value myself. Travelling there for 6 months was a path that had to be taken.

It was the end of the monsoon season in October 2009 when I arrived at Karuna Farm, India (where Alex’s Earthship is located). This meant that construction was slow and the most I could offer was to help build a planter wall, to house the indoor garden (pictured before and after).
Karuna planter wall consdt.jpg
planter wall 2.jpg
This did, however, give us plenty of time to chat. Alex taught me a lot about the Earthships principal functions and how the building responds to a lot of the question of self-sufficient living. It was a paradigm-shifting time for me, that to this day still influences me! I can recommend the books 'Earthship' by Michael Reynolds, 'Earthships in Europe' by Mischa Hewitt and 'Water From The Sky' also by Mike Reynolds.

Here are some photos from then.
1917792_180223436597_3904055_n (1).jpg1917792_180223541597_833149_n.jpg1917792_180223486597_1807512_n.jpg

After Karuna Farm, I spent 5 weeks at Sadhana Forest, on the outskirts of Auroville.This futuristic model of a town is built on the principles of sustainability and spirituality.
There, I lived a strict no-processed food lifestyle that taught disciplined and the reality of life-without modern comforts. We worked in permaculture and reforestation as well as teaching children vital survival skills. To talk about personal growth, I felt that those 5 weeks were a time of real personal growth and self-reflection for me. I can recommend the book 'Secret of the Ages' by Robert Collier.
20278_234855181597_6167687_n (1).jpg20278_258502201597_2551231_n.jpg20278_234870041597_5900969_n.jpg20278_234860436597_7384372_n.jpg
I met my partner Lisa in Hampi, India. We eventually built our first low-carbon and ecological structure together, but I will get to this soon.
Lisa and I.jpg

I arrived back to the UK in 2010. Lisa soon followed, 3 months later. I set about getting involved with Earthship Brighton, as well as attending sustainability conferences, talks, eco-building festivals and events as much as possible. I took Lisa along with me as often as I could. She too got inspired to get involved! We attended two Earthship construction courses as well as a Straw Bale course together, held at the Earthship itself in Stanmer Park.
250840_10150192237166598_1570205_n.jpg
There we met Mischa Hewitt, one of the project leaders for Earthship Brighton. He and Alex Leeor actually worked together on projects between C-level solutions, The Low-Carbon Trust and Earthship Brighton. ( A few years later I would be sitting with Daren Howarth who was also pivotal in the above projects, and would later be featured on Grand Designs for his Earthship house in Brittany).

In the meantime, I took a level 1 carpentry course in Brighton.
By this time I was almost certain that I wanted to build my own house and that it should be in some way made low-impact with elements of self-sufficiency and with sustainable or recycled materials.
We used to dream of the possibilities of building a prototype house to get experience in self-building.

I remember the day that Lisa called her dad in Sweden and asked if he would let us build a summer house on his land.
I was so happy when he agreed, and we set about starting a build date in early summer of 2011.

Sustainablebuilds..

...Is the name that stuck (for a while) for the summer-house project; a single roomed building made from upcycled, recycled and natural materials that use energy efficiency principles and sun-based orientation. This was my first building project completed without any previous construction experience, for Lisa too. 335603_298859880131486_224146881_o.jpg621157_514855591865246_839411615_o.jpg
20937836_10155555320466598_1214235195_n.jpg20885172_10155555320456598_366780394_n.jpg
We took a lot of inspiration from the Earthship movement and had a brilliant group of volunteers who helped us on the build. We both learnt A LOT from this little project, mistakes and all and I owe thanks to both Lisa and her father Peter for giving me this opportunity.

Some of the building stages can be found on this page
(https://sustainablebuilds.wordpress.com/)

Some photos of the summer house.

Before too long, we both felt that we needed more education. Lisa took a multi-trades and skills course in Umea, Sweden. I signed up for MSc Architecture: Advanced Environmental and Energy Studies at CAT, Wales.

It felt like a new chapter was opening in my life! Through the ups and downs, things were moving forward. A string of events were forming that I knew I needed to follow if I was to stick to my goal of one day living in an Earthship inspired home.
In my next post, I’ll be sharing with you what the MSc course taught me and the I job I got working for the coolest, innovative dude, Dan Warburton. I became a board member for New-Earth UK, the Super-Adobe Earthbag movement and I will be sharing where my life has taken me so far.

Look out for my next post in a couple of days!

Sort:  

Most interesting @mrfunkymonk, follow you. Can you say where is that house on your first photo?

Hi @lighteye the Earthship photoed is Steven Slothouwer's home in New Zealand. Thanks for the follow. Part III of my journey is now out.

wow, what an amazing post! So good to see your whole journey and how I fit into it! SO many memories there.. and i didnt even know you had pictures still! Great to see them !

That planter worked out beautifully! you would never imagine it was made from 100's of plastic bottles and some mud!

Thanks for sharing this myfunk! cant wait to read more!

You can check out the latest Part of my Eco Diary here!

https://steemit.com/life/@eco-alex/the-remarkable-diary-of-an-eco-builder-part-3-how-to-accomplish-anything-in-life

wow! Such a beautiful and well presented story! I got to help with the build a few months before the bond beam and all that was up so it is such a pleasure to see these hidden gems! thank you @mrfunkymonk for sharing this and thank you @eco-alex for inspiring so many hearts and minds! Look forward to reading more as the story is retold! cheers @wuji

Well Done!!!

Hey @mrfunkymonk, I just moved to Taos, which I'm sure you know is the home of Earthship Biotecture! Ever make it out this way?

Wow you legend! Would love to make it out that way one day but havent done so yet. You building or have built a house there? One love

Not yet--I'm actually an RV nomad at the moment, and writing a guide on it. Definitely would love to do some homesteading/off the grid work later in life though.

In fact, met an elderly gentleman today in town who's lived in his earthship for 15 years.

Great job @witnezme! You are writing in a book format for your 'guide'?

I may use selections as steemit posts but yep, 200-300 page book, hopefully by Thanksgiving.

Wow what a journey :)
This post about your adventures is so cool on so many levels, I also know Darren Howarth and I lived in Brighton and Sweden so I almost feel at home reading this.
Beautiful little summer stuga you built well done.
Thanks for sharing this with us :)

What an inspirational article. I am so impressed by how elegant the finished Earthships are. Amazing. Resteeming

Hi @creationofcare! Happy that it interests you. Thank you for the resteem! By the way my Part III journey of discovery is now out. Followed and upvoted!

Another stunning read, going to show the amazing benefits of following your heart. I love the photo on the egg. And so good of Peter to let you guys build that first project. How exciting :)

I really appreciate your comment @healingherb! Your words are kind and sinceer.

And so @mrfunkymonk, are yours. Can't wait to hear about the new arrival (once it's all settled down...)

You guys rock. Can I ask the material used in the house you built with no experience? Brick or wood?

Hi thanks dude, the summerhouse was built using excess building material from a neighbour. It is a form of stone, aerated lime with a mix of concrete and aluminium oxide. They are called Selcon blocks. Although they need a lot of energy for production, they have very good thermal properties.

Looks very portable. I am a fan of renewable energy too but not by choice. Had to do that to supplement the little or no power from the public electric board. Keep doing your thing.

Hey @mrfunkymonk, ecstatic to find so many sustainable building advocates here. We are in our own journey. Moving to Spain in Jan to find land and build our own home (with 2 toddlers on tow, should be interesting!). Really inspiring to see stories like yours. We have been in this journey since 2011 but the UK has proven to be impossible in terms of planning and being able to afford land so off we go to where it might be possible. Have upvoted, resteemed and followed. Look forward to hearing more about your journey. Take care.

Wish you so much joy and luck on the new life starting in Spain. One love and thank you!