You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Earthship Biotecture & Self-sufficient Housing: My Journey of Discovery Part I (ecoTrain)

in #life7 years ago

It can be very labour intensive building an Earthship, especially filling the tires. I'd like to combine other building techniques with the Earthship model that removes the tyres but retains thermodynamics and heat transfer from the structure itself. I have previously worked with Iliona Outram Khalili and the Super Adobe movement, and I think there could be something useful to a combination of the techniques, with less physical labour.

Sort:  

EARTHBAG! all the way.. good to do a few layers of tyres and then eartjhbag it and do the roof whilst you are at it.. they need to be round to do the roof with earthbags.. but WOW.. so nice, and SO cheap compared to a normal roof

Those old tyres though make me cringe, I would not want them in a house.
And the use of cement is putting me of a bit. But apart from those two things earthships seem to be great. What I also like is loadbearing strawbale construction (which is not allowed in Germany).

There are five loadbearing strawbalehouses in germany. But no more permissions have been given out, so far. No reasons. Even the one by Bill Steens design in Wangelin hasn't got a roof yet. Althought the construction engineer gave it a thumb up.

lol.. if u saw it you wouldnt cringe.. becuase you cant see them, or feel them.. They make up maybe 0.1% of the mass of the house.. and are entombed in a mud wall..

There is hardly any cement in this Earhthsip.. none in the tyres, and just 10% on the final half inch thick top coat.. this is also optional but with the heavy monsoons i wanted low maintenance..