Rock Climbing at Donner Summit

in #life7 years ago

My climbing partner and good friend Paul just happened to be back in Sacramento for a few days (he moved to Hong Kong for his MBA) and hit me up to go climbing near Tahoe! Now that it's summer, I've been dying to get outside every chance I get, even if it's just a short day trip. We picked Donner Summit because it's an easy drive and quick approach (hike from the car to the rock climbing spot) with beautiful views of Donner Lake.

Fotor_150074466599229.jpg

Climber directions are always a little unclear and confusing, with subtle paths and directions like “turn right at the tree (in a forest)”, “follow the cairns (assuming you're on the right path already), or “look for a rock like this picture”. Needless to say we took a few wrong turns. Paul and I have been climbing together enough that we both know when we get lost, it's the other person's fault!!

20170721_123959.jpg

I tell ya, nothing, nothing feels like climbing on real rock: the texture of the wall, finding a nub as a foothold, figuring out your route, and the exhilaration when you complete a climb (or send it, in climber speak). We ended up finding a great spot with some easy top rope (easiest, safest form of climbing) routes, 100-120’ tall. It was a pretty short trip as Paul had to get back into town early, but it was fun climbing with him again!

20170721_125953.jpg

Sort:  

This post received a 4.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @acromott! For more information, click here!

looking good girlfran!

If I was a climber, I definitely go there.

Looks like a fun climb! I'll have to check it out sometime

Congratulations @muffintuesday! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey man, you do not need to transfer 2SBD to randowhale as it was now offering promotion, you just need to send 1SBD only!
Refer here : https://steemit.com/steemit/@randowhale/randowhale-is-now-only-1-steem-sbd-per-vote-spread-the-news
Upvote me or send me some little tips if you like my remind!