BlogPost 001: The Life lesson I learned being a San Diego Chargers Fan

in #life6 years ago

I grew up a die hard San Diego Chargers fan. I watched every minute, literally.

I had to watch every minute, every call, every play ... because only then could I catch the fleeting moments of electricity.

Only then could I find our greatness.

If I missed a big play ... I'd feel cheated.

Cheated out of the only things we could brag about ... our fleeting moments of greatness. Our big run. Our big catch. Our big hit.

But I was a fanatic.

I loved football.

I loved #55 ... Seau reminded me of my older brother, or dad, playing middle linebacker ... the true warriors position on the field ... and my future position, of course....

I loved #21 ... no one can tell me any different ... LT will always be one of the greatest running backs to ever walk on the field. Period....

Number #85 .. same for Gates..

We've had our great players.

We've had our great coaches.

But in the modern age, we never could put it all together...

At least not in San Diego ...

...

I was hurt when the Chargers left... and I haven't really sat and watched any football since the very last Chargers game as the San Diego Chargers ... but I never regret any time I've spent watching them play ... I thoroughly enjoyed every moment.

The triumphant wins and jubilant cries of "this year is different, I can feel it!", still echo ... The heart breaking "close ones"... still hurt ... (If you would have just done your f****** job Nate Kaeding .. i swear!!! ... goose frabba...goooose fraaabba ...teehee lol) ...

but i still don't regret a second!

Because the San Diego Chargers may have taught me the best life lesson I ever did learn ... and it fits in perfect with my grand philosophy...

That to succeed in life, love, anything, really ... YOU HAVE TO PLAY TO WIN!!! AND NEVER PLAY TO NOT LOSE!!!

It sounds harsh. I know.

I sound bitter ...but i'm not.

It's simple.

It's facts.

The Chargers always lost when they played "not to lose".

Even when they would go on "offense" and "attack" ...they stilled played "not to lose" ...

You could always feel IT... whether you were at Qualcomm or at home watching the game ...you knew, that when the fourth quarter came in ...if it was close ... the ultra conservative playbook would come out ... or if we were feeling frisky, that ultra conservative, "need-to-make-a-play-or-else" playbook would come out ...

and all hell would break loose and we would lose the damn game!!

Ultimately, because ...we NEVER played to WIN, we ALWAYS played to NOT LOSE... well, that's a tad unfair...

I remember the Chargers used to play to win!!!

"In my day"... we used to play to ... lol ...

Look at me saying "we" ... hah ..

....

If the Chargers were to win a super bowl in Los Angeles, I'd be proud of the team, and the players ... they will always hold a place in my heart ... there will always be a bit of me that will feel good knowing they won a ring .. but I'll never go back to those die hard days .. its just not me anymore... i've broken the trance and the fanatic lives no more !!!

But i do thank the Chargers for everything they did do for me.

They gave me pride for my home, when I needed it.

They gave me role models, when I didn't have them.

And, they may have gave me the greatest life lesson of all:

ALWAYS PLAY TO WIN!!! THE CUP IS ALWAYS HALF FULL!!! OPTIMISM ALWAYS WINS!!! LOSERS LOSE BECAUSE THEY"RE FOCUSING ON WINNERS ... WHILE WINNERS ARE FOCUSING ON WINNING!!! PERIOD!!! STAY POSITIVE!! BE KIND!!! BE GENUINE!!! BE PASSIONATE!!! LOVE YOURSELF!!! LOVE YOUR BROTHER!!! LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOR!!! BE BETTER ... BECAUSE PLAYING NOT TO LOSE IS NEVER A WINNING STRATEGY!!! PLAY TO WIN!!! PLAY TO WIN!!! PLAY!! TO!!! WIN!!!

*** FIN ***


What facet of your LIFE are you playing NOT TO LOSE?

How can you CHANGE it to "PLAY TO WIN" mentality?

It wont be easy ...it wont be quick ... but this simple tweak in your thoughts WILL change your life ...

I'm a walking example of IT ... and I still have a LOOOOOONNNGGGGG way to go!!!

So .. just know if you take the steps... the doors will open!!

TRUST.

Much Love Fam.

Sincerely,

@My_Livin_Truth

               *** *** *** ANCIENT PILGRIM WAKE UP!!!!!! *** *** ***