Incredible human - Misty Copeland Prima Ballerina

in #life6 years ago

IMG_0286.JPG
Photo credit allure.com

Hello Steemians,
For those of you stateside you've probably already heard and seen the amazing images of Misty Copeland but for us in Europe and the rest of the world she hasn't had much exposure. I came across her in an article written for Soho House and was blown away by her story, a really untraditional route to becoming a prima ballerina and her incredible physique. I wanted to share this with you as I'm sure you'll think she's as cool as I do!

IMG_0287.JPG
Photo credit graphis.com

In this article, I've taken some inserts from the interview which appears on the Soho House members only website.

Misty Copeland grew up in San Pedro California, one of six siblings to a single mother. A shy child who didn't have any hobbies, for some reason at the age of 12 decided to audition for a role in the school dance team. She choreographed a dance to George Michael's "I want your sex" and was immediately made Captain of the dance team. From there Misty explains how she started doing ballet:

"The coach saw me and said, 'what are you doing here, you have an amazing physique and you pick up movement really quickly, you should take this free ballet class.' A friend of hers owned a ballet school and was looking for diverse students and was offering free classes at the Boys and Girls Club. I was forced into taking this class — I had no idea what ballet was, I’d never even heard classical music. The teacher said she’d never seen a talent like mine and she brought me into her school on a scholarship. I trained there for four years and then went on to become a professional."

IMG_0288.JPG
Photo credit solarey.net

Misty has recently released a book called Ballerina Body where her central theme is that you should love your body and celebrate it, all shapes and sizes:

"I’ve always been a voice in support of loving who you are, and not following this era of social media tutorials where everyone ends up looking the same. I show images of my body in the book to show that I’m an athlete and that I work my butt off to look like this. But I wanted this to be about people discovering and making their own version of a ballerina body, which is a healthy body to me; one that is so different to how society depicts a ballerina body — typically a thin, anorexic white woman with blonde hair. I wanted to show them that this is a ballerina body too and that everyone can find a path to their own version of a healthy body."

IMG_0289.JPG
Photo credit gaiahealthblog.com

IMG_0290.JPG
Photo credit Gettyimages

IMG_0291.JPG
Photo credit YouTube.com

Being a black ballet dancer has not come without its challenges as ballet tends to be a predominantly white field, Misty found inspiration in Raven Wilkinson:

"...The first person who I feel really changed the course of my life and career was Raven Wilkinson. She was the first black ballerina to dance with the Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo. She auditioned two or three times before she was finally accepted, because they didn’t want to take her because of the color of her skin. She ended up leaving the company because they were travelling a lot through the South and the KKK were coming for her, so they told her it wasn’t safe for her any more.
Hearing her story just changed my perspective and I felt that I had such a different purpose — it wasn’t just about being a ballerina, it was about sharing my journey and speaking about the lack of diversity in classical ballet."

Misty Copeland at the time of me putting this together is Prima Ballerina at the prestigious American Ballet Theatre.

Stay tuned my next post will be out soon!

Xoxo Natnot

Sort:  

Humans are amazing! The human body is capable of so much. I wish my body could do that. =)

Well if Misty's story says one thing, it's that its never too late!
Thanks for commenting and upvoting!

Your comments are true human body if given basic since he was young then it does not close the possibility can do various things. a small example is with this floor gymnastics. not everyone can do a dangerous thing like the one I was @adikuala had just said and very much agreed with you @cryptocreative

1516505167260-882787719.jpg

after I reply to your comment @cryptocreative. which discusses the human body balance. I just want to tell you. amidst the splendor and so much excitement of so many ESTEEMIT fans that they have lost the way to post the photography resultsif I only use this simple ixus 160 canon camera. while others are very sophisticated and extraordinary their photos, meaning maybe from the other side you @cryptocreative can help me to reach succes I will be very grateful to youbut what ideas can I do to make your heart happy. I will try to give the results of my manual photography on you @ cryptocreative. hopefully you are happy with my manual. from Aceh Utara @adikuala .

This is my picture @adikuala that uses camera canon ixus 160. This picture has not been posted anywhere. original I send it to you @ryptocreativ.
The name of this Flower is the Flower of UNGKE RIMANG the people of Central Aceh call it.
IMG_1836.JPG

this is also my picture @ adikuala. this image also I have never uploaded before I send oiginal also to you @ryptocreative
The name of this Flower Sikuning Rauh people of North Aceh call it.
IMG_1831.JPG

Such beautiful photography! Thank you for sharing

thanks again but if possible please ask you please ùpvote also I @adikuala in my top post or the lowest receive upvote because success is the result of cooperation whether you agree .

Congratulations @natnot! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @natnot! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!