Reflections on a Summer of Great Change

in #life5 years ago

Guess i'm not alone in learning how to fly.jpg

This past summer was so full that I’m still digesting it all. Although this period of intensity has been in the works for some time, in June we began the physical dismantling of my studio and home. Sometimes when I catch glimpses of this time either when scanning my photo library or in flashes of memory, I can hardly believe what I did. To be fair, it’s what WE did. Rob, my supportive partner, was an absolute superstar with this undertaking. He saw how burdened I was and mustered up the energy and chutzpah to plow through the sorting, lifting, and thousands of decisions.

This was a herculean task. Our home was actually easy since I’m not a pack-rat and really didn’t have much stuff, but my studio…. that was another story!

IMG-0029 sf.png IMG-0490.JPG

My studio held the traces of the literally hundreds of tile and mosaic projects that were created and shipped worldwide. From Princeton, NJ to Tel Aviv Israel, from residential barbecues to commercial tile installations to public art, each tile made and each employee who helped make it left some kind of story. Thus taking apart, selling, giving away and packing the 2000 Square feet of shelving, machinery, materials, books, kilns, clay residue and experiences was a whole lot to process!

RFG Quince Portley crop tiny.jpeg RFGtile dot bathroom process jpg.jpg RFG early bird mosaic.jpeg 01 RFG rose room tiny.jpeg waves carved tiny.jpeg

We did all of it rapidly and with great focus while finishing projects and this required pushing very very long hours and 4 months later I still marvel at the many facets of this move that we handled in such a short time.

IMG-0596.JPG IMG-0558.JPG
many Bagster pick-ups, and selling/moving the 20 ton tile press

I suppose that act of moving was physical evidence of the magnitude of the changes I made this summer, but really it was and is so much more. It was completion of a chapter in my life that started 32 years ago when I left home to embark on a life of my own making. I’ve found myself revisiting my 19 yr old self who was so energized by my move west from the east coast and the significance of the time I spent in California, Seattle and then Portland.

IMG-9041.JPG
photo by Dana Shulak

In the west I grew into myself. My creative life force finally had room to flourish, transform and practice to a level of mastery (30,000 hours+ and counting). I made some of the dearest friends I’ll ever know and many who I will have for life. I had rich and many experiences in the majestic lands showing me the truth of my heart and the magic of life; I healed so many generations of wounds living within me that I could finally bring myself into my life as a whole person. For all of this I’m so grateful!

larch view sf.jpeg
view of Mt. St. Helens from Larch Mt.

There is a Shamanic healing ceremony called “Dismemberment” and it is a taking apart of a person, an experience or relationship and putting it back together in a new and healthy way. This “taking apart” is seen as a necessary step for a person to move forward. What no longer serves is shed, and the person, situation or relationship is reassembled in a new way so that s/he or it can thrive. It always brings the highest good and enables the people involved to engage in life more fully, and in ways that are appropriate for this time in their lives. The symbolic pulling apart and accompanying changes in the physical world can be a bit gory or at least uncomfortable but ultimately allow for an effective transition. Whether the dismemberment occurs for a smaller shift in life like a much needed change of perspective, or is for a more significant occurrence like a rite of passage, this is a powerful and extremely helpful ritual.

I feel like my life in 2018 has been this ceremony - everything from taking apart, a bloody shedding of what no longer serves and I am now in the phase of putting myself and all the facets of my life back together in new ways.

Have a really great Steemfest everyone with safe-travels and happy times! I will be enjoying it all vicariously through your posts and the livestream. Can’t wait to witness the newly energized engagement that will follow this momentus conference!

Ruth Shaman copy.jpg

divider.jpg

aka Ruth Frances Greenberg, I am a ceramic artist who makes mosaics, tile and all things clay from my home studio in rural Connecticut, USA. I’m here on Steemit to offer my support and friendship to creatives, individuals and projects that I value and want to see more of in the world. The decentralized economy and blockchain technology are promising and I am very pleased to be a part of this exciting new revolution.
Your support means the world to me and enables me to pursue my life and creativity with more freedom and opportunity, thank you! You can learn more about me and my work at www.ruthfrancesgreenberg.com

Sort:  

There's so much wisdom, depth, and emotion in this post. I love how you describe that Shamanic ritual of taking things apart and putting them back together in a healthier way. I've never thought of life changes through that particular lens but it describes it perfectly.

Nothing allows you to really learn who you are and what you're made of like moving away from where you were born. It sounds like you did that and it turned out splendidly!

Thanks so much Eric! Means a lot coming from you - the author of so many insights :-)). And it's so true that leaving what we know (especially at this point in life) offers many profound reflections of who we are.

Wow - these were some transformative months! A move is always high-impact, but I can read in your post this was a bigger than average move on multiple levels :-) It's an era you had to put into boxes or even leave behind in parts.

I'm super glad you're back to writing updates again - I'm also super curious how you are feeling in your new home and studio <3

I will try to update you about SteemFest on the blog! Who knows, maybe we'll both be there next year :-)

so true @soyrosa, you've intuited the magnitude of this big life change! I have a few more posts on the subject ahead as well. I'm really glad to be back and am trying to get into a rhythm again. Looks like you're busy as a beaver and I love seeing your collaborations!

Have a great time at steemfest, I had REALLY hoped to go this year, but there has been just too much going on. I'd love to meet you in person and fingers crossed for next year! Actually there's a good chance I'll be in Europe early next year, so maybe we can have a meet-up. Thanks for staying in touch and I'll look forward to hearing how things go for you!xoxo

Moving is difficult when all you have is a U-haul full, can't imagine the scale of what you have done, all the way across the continent. Amazingly amazing. I love the idea of 'dismemberment', it must be so very fulfilling to go through. As you so eloquently describe in this marvelous post. So glad it is all working out well in your new 'dig's, and that you are opening new doors and avenues of creativity. It is one truly amazing, exciting and open ended human endeavor, that's for sure. Keep us up on what is going on and how life in your new, Eastern world progresses. Cheers.

As always @ddschteinn, your comments are amazing :-)
Thanks for checking in on me here and I have a few more posts about this whole transition coming up.
Are you going to steemfest?

Beautiful, Ruth, much to meditate on, here. And, I think I can relate to (and am inspired by) your reflections on Dismemberment. Stay blessed, friend, and safe during your inner/outer journeys. _/|\_

Thank you for the blessings, your friendship and support @yahialababidi, glad this post reached you inside out!

WOW, @natureofbeing ! What a heartfelt and informative post. I am so glad you arrived to your new life destination with an expansive attitude. Many happy returns (to your self !).

Moving houses is always a headache but it's good that you have a great partner who helped a lot during these difficult times. Now that you are in a new location, I am sure that fresh and exciting things are going to happen very soon, if they haven't already :D.

hi @scrawly, moving is definitely a headache and I agree that I'm very fortunate to have a supportive partner to help! Don't know how I would have done it without him.

Life - inside me and on the outside - feels different in our new situation and yes fresh ideas and energy are percolating. I look forward to seeing how life opens up as time goes on.

Thanks for your friendship, support and comments :-)). Are you going to steemfest?

No, SteemFest is too far from Australia. Plus I dislike flying.
                     
I hope you will keep updating us about this new chapter in your life :D.

Oh yes it's true, Krakow IS very far from Australia! Yes I'm trying to keep posting although I seem to be slow as molasses on this front ;-))

Oh woah, that must have been a super intense time Ruth!!!
<3
Let's have a chat soon deary. It's been too long

Ashley!!! Yes miss you!
Btw, I can't find the steemsugars discord channel anymore...seems to have disappeared, am I mistaken?

I am not in it anymore! Let me see what I can find out

thanks actually I just figured it out :-))

That's the cutest picture EVER!

Posted using Partiko Android

lol thanks, I agree :-)