Brain drain from Western Europe

in #life3 months ago

Most places that young people want to live have broadly similar problems to Western Europe. Vancouver has a housing shortage and a part of the city that's a slum (think skid row), many cities in Australia have similar housing crisis.

I live in Canada for now but the long term plan is to go home. I didn't move for better opportunity it was just the right decision at the time due to my relationship and my wages were considerably worse for the first several years. I've crawled back up to what my salary was in Ireland more or less but would be a higher job title in Ireland all going well if I had stayed. Salary wise the only thing that really makes a difference here is a bonus is paid whereas in my industry in Ireland there was an option to pay a discretionary bonus and the discretion was not to pay it. Without the bonus in Canada it would be much more difficult.

Also there are many people just leaving Canada or not coming at all the way things are going. If you could get a job in US and have decent education and work drive that would be economically the place to go.

For now my home is Canada rented of course but still cost and what we call home