Hamilton Chicago and Blogging Motivation!

in #life7 years ago

Wow. I had the opportunity to see Hamilton for the first time tonight. As someone who has spent a lot of time watching and performing musical theater, I'm always a bit reserved in my expectations of new shows I see. But man, was I blown away by this one.

I'm not sure what else I can say that hasn't already been said about Hamilton, so I'll just say thank you and congratulations to the cast and the production team for an unforgettable night!

(Coincidentally, the Hamilton Mixtape -- with the likes of Busta Rhymes, Nas, Usher, John Legend, Alicia Keyes performing Hamilton covers -- came out on the same day we went to the show. If you haven't checked this out, I highly recommend it!)

I'll also leave the Steem.it community with some blogging motivation from one of the show's songs, "Non-Stop."

"How do you write like you’re running out of time? Write day and night like you’re running out of time? How do you write like tomorrow won't arrive? How do you write like you need it to survive? How do you write ev'ry second you're alive? Ev'ry second you're alive? Ev'ry second you're alive?"

Thoughts on Hamilton? Leave them in the comments!

Sort:  

I absolutely loveeee Hamilton! Congrats on getting to see it. Hopefully I will soon looks dramatically out the window
My favorite quote is "Death doesn't discriminate
Between the sinners and the saints,
it takes and it takes and it takes
and we keep living anyway.
We rise and we fall
and we break
and we make our mistakes.
And if there's a reason I'm still alive
when everyone who loves me has died
I'm willing to wait for it."
I like the way Burr recognizes the forces beyond his control, especially death, because of how negatively it's impacted his life and created hardships.
I really love the lyrics and the meaning behind them.
Keep Steemin'